We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with a friend and thoroughly enjoyed it. Firstly check-in was quick and efficient, the rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean and the bush setting is beautiful. The location is perfect, being about a 20 minute drive to the Dove Lake carpark....the food options at the hotel are good but not great....overall thou very pleasant and good value for money.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank marky2769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear marky2769,

Thankyou for your feedback, I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed the location. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 335 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2016

But tired and outdated fittings, for instance having a kettle, but no place to really put it. A writing desk that is probably never used could be removed and a more useful piece of furniture, like somewhere to lay your suitcase rather than on the floor.
Staff are friendly and I love the artwork / photography on the corridor walls.
The rooms are a good size, but the walls are quite thin we had noisy neighbours and a person we could hear snoring!
In the restaurant the staff are good but seem short staffed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the car park, there are ones that overlook the surrounding For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hils1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear Hils1964,

Thankyou for your feedback, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the service from the staff and the facilities like the gallery. We are currently investigating the possibility of refurbishing rooms, which will enable us to enhance all guests experience.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Very good hotel to stay at. Rooms are very nice and spacious. Bistro provides good value food. Has a walking trak for those who wish to explore the bushland at the back of the hotel. Also has common rooms with games and fires which is nice, We found animals outside our rooms at night and in the morning which was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear David S,

Thankyou for your comments, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and also able to enjoy the Food & Beverage outlets. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

This Hotel is basic budget at a premium price. Staying here truly did wreck our Cradle Mountain experience. We wished we had just gone for the day and stayed somewhere else - anywhere else!
# The room was not soundproof with a visible gap which let light and sound in. You could hear every single person walk up the hall way ALL NIGHT.
# All you can eat buffet - not one eatable thing on it and I am not exaggerating!
We refused to pay as there was nothing to eat (and we are not fussy) so my family
shared a packet of biscuits for dinner.
# Breakfast buffet - just as horrible. They actually displayed whole pieces of stone fruit
in a bowl but when you turned every one over they were visibly rotten or not yet rip.
Scrambled eggs were grey and powdery and the fried eggs could have been used
as a hockey puck. Bacon was more fat than bacon and it was boiled bacon fat at
that. When the waitress bought out a huge bowl of bananas, every person in the
place got up and took 3 or 4 because that was all there was to eat.
# there seemed to be an equal amount of nice helpful staff and rude abrupt staff.

Room Tip: we were in a standard queen room - DON'T DO IT, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear 995penny,

Thankyou for your comments, can you please contact me directly on 03 6492 1404 to discuss your comments further.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We had a fabulous 2-tiered room with king size bed on upper level and lounge area on lower level with bush land outlook. Bathroom a bit small but spa bath plus shower were appreciated. Great relaxing lounge areas with fire places and external balconies. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bistro was good especially for breakfast. Wifi only available in foyer and lounge/bistro area. Close access to Visitor Centre.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vixen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear Vixen50,

Thankyou for providing us with your comments, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and surrounds. I am also pleased to let you know that our external provider has been able to fix their connectivity issues, Wifi has now been restored to all rooms.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
38.5 km away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#2 of 2 in Sheffield
65 reviews
38.7 km away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
113 reviews
2.5 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
813 reviews
1 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
742 reviews
4.7 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Address: Astell 3718 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: HK$1,202 - HK$2,655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Cradle Mountain Hotel sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Hotel is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing