We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good really”

The Pheasant at Buckland
Ranked #16 of 83 Restaurants in Reigate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Description: Although just a stone's throw from the centre of the lovely town of Reigate, the Pheasant is a country pub at heart, with a great deal of attention given to our gardens and terrace which overlook the beautiful countryside around. Perfectly positioned to catch the sun and with the outside fire crackling away during the evenings, you’d be hard pressed to find a more agreeable place to enjoy a spot of al fresco dining or a few sundowners during the summer months. Inside you will find a warm welcome at our large and bustling bar at the centre of the pub, bursting with local ales, great wines and a rather impressive gin collection. Either join us for a drink or choose to dine in our light and spacious garden room or welcoming bar with comfy seats, wooden floors and open fires.
Restaurant details
Description: Although just a stone's throw from the centre of the lovely town of Reigate, the Pheasant is a country pub at heart, with a great deal of attention given to our gardens and terrace which overlook the beautiful countryside around. Perfectly positioned to catch the sun and with the outside fire crackling away during the evenings, you’d be hard pressed to find a more agreeable place to enjoy a spot of al fresco dining or a few sundowners during the summer months. Inside you will find a warm welcome at our large and bustling bar at the centre of the pub, bursting with local ales, great wines and a rather impressive gin collection. Either join us for a drink or choose to dine in our light and spacious garden room or welcoming bar with comfy seats, wooden floors and open fires.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well where do I start, have been here before and food and service was good.
Today is a different matter…….it started off with most of the menu not available, no mashed potatoes, only chips, so no fresh potatoes obviously.
All but one of the vegetarian options off the menu
I ordered beef madras coriander green beans sweet potato saag aloo and naan bread, what I got was a few green beans, no coriander in sight, a steak with some sauce poured over the top, a tasteless sweets potato and spinach dish and shrunken naan bread.
It took 90 minutes for the food to arrive at the table.
Onto puddings, I will have the hot drink with cake please, what hot drink? Tea please, we only have Earl grey. What no normal tea, no sorry.
There is a flippin supermarket not 3 minutes from your pub. You guys really need to get sorted, a pretty poor evening all told
It tells a story when the kids don’t even eat their puddings!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Kev_macd70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited for lunch and were pleased with the good service and food. The atmosphere was relaxed. We were impressed with the gluten free menu. Looking forward to a return visit.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 850lesleyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We can normally depend on this restaurant for good service and high food quality. On this visit, the service was friendly, fast and efficient, but the food was dreadful. The garlic prawn starter appeared to comprise reheated pre-cooked prawns, with rubbery texture and almost tasteless. The "madras curry" consisted of a slab of cooked, gristly steak covered in a red sauce with only the vaguest hint of spices, and the sag aloo was lukewarm and tasteless. The beans (no evidence of coriander) and naan were acceptable. We had phoned to confirm there would be a rice accompaniment, but this did not appear. The mini sticky toffee puddings and hot drinks were fine.

We were in a large party and did not want to complain at the time, especially as the serving staff were so good in dealing with us, but there can be no excuses for producing dishes of such low quality in a reputable restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavidK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our 1st meal out since covid restrictions lifted The Pheasant was very busy. That said all the staff were very friendly and polite.

We were shown to our table and it had just been cleaned was socially distanced from other diners. It was clear the Pheasant had given a great deal of thought to keeping everyone safe.

Now to the food, not only was it very tasty and freshly cooked to order , there was a lot of it. I suggest that you go there hungry you wont be disappointed.

Another good thing is that you can view the food menus online so you can get an idea of whats available before you go.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 57bdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday with 15 members of family, we were greeted with smiles and complete relaxation from staff so welcoming, the food was absolutely brilliant catering for three small children as well I would fully recommend this place we are definitely returning soon.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank PeterC234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Pheasant at Buckland also viewed

 

Been to The Pheasant at Buckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.