We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food.”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #10 of 83 Restaurants in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Royal Oak Inn Is A Quaint Village Inn, With Real Log Fires, Cask Beers, Fine Wines And A Selection Of Local Gins, Local Sourced Produce , Excellent Yorkshire Quality Food And Friendly Hospitality, Dog And Child Friendly. Set In A Pretty Country Village With A Yorkshire Wild Life Nature Reserve Behind The Inn, Yet Close To The Market Towns Of Knaresborough And Boroughbridge And Only A Ten Minute Drive To Harrogate.
Reviewed 31 May 2018

This place was recommended to us while staying at Burton Leonard, not disappointed at all. We returned the second night too.

Thank Dodge42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherineaudsley, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

the bed and breakfast where you stayed is lovely too, and so glad they send their guests to us, we certainly appreciate this, yours catherine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2018

Always a friendly and relaxed place to eat with great value food and last nights Sunday dinner was no exception. I know this pub has had a chequered past but the present owners have done an amazing job in so short a time. It now is a real choice for lunch and dinner with very friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere, will put this on my regular visit list

Thank MikeJ2198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherineaudsley, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

so pleased you have found our hard work has paid off, and appreciate that you will return, yours catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Great family atmosphere food excellent staff could not do enough for you had 3 courses starter main pudding excellent all the family had different dishes all raving abought food & service good helpings you won’t be disappointed thank you for a great meal & making us most welcome
Stephen stancer

Thank sstancer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherineaudsley, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

thank you for taking time out to review the royal oak and so glad your family enjoyed their visit. yours catherine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Just back from having a meal at the Royal Oak in Staverley, knaresborough. It was delicious! Everything was tasty and plentiful. Visited as we were staying close by and had read previous reviews. All correct! The food is great. Well worth a visit and we shall certainly go again next time we are in the area.

Thank 444karen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherineaudsley, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you again, when next in the area. yours catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

This is our second visit to the Royal Oak and it certainly will not be the last .
The whole experience is just amazing with the warmest welcome and great service from Cath and Natalie.serving you quickly and efficiently.
Fabulous choice of wines ..
The whole pub is so tastefully decorated and situated in a chocolate box village ,so perfect and relaxing.
The food is just amazing, my husband had a lovely vegetable soup and chicken pie ,which was faultless I chose the duck which was divine ,this chef certainly knows his stuff.
Cannot rate this place highly enough,go and see for yourselves you’ll never be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank georgie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
 
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing