We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveller rating
218
289
125
56
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
289
125
56
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal engineers a family run hotel bar meals bridal suite full english chatham dockyard family room reception staff would stay again budget hotel restaurant staff plenty of parking tea and coffee breakfast was included very pleasant stay coach trip stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 750 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights. This hotel is dog friendly. The bed was comfortable and the room was very good and quiet too. The staff were all very friendly. The breakfast was very good, although the dining room can get busy. Parking is good. A great alternative to the soulless chain hotels.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank neilm761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review of the King Charles Hotel

Being a family run hotel we always try to treat our guests as more than just a room number, and it is nice when that is recognised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Great hotel to stay,we stayed with family 28th july for 3 nights here as our niece married locally.would stay again everyone so friendly.we asked for a change In room as it was far to small and it was no bother to the staff.will stay again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank scotsawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review of the King Charles Hotel

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

We get to stay here once a year when visiting the area for a sports event at the adjacent Medway centre.
The hotel is classed as a 3 star facility but has some features not normally found at this level. Breakfast is served with personal orders taken at the table. Full English and continental options available. Breakfast is included in the room rate. Service is very good and efficient. Toast, coffee, tea, juices and fruit/porridge is self-serve.
The evening meal service consists of a choice of a full restaurant experience with a good choice of dishes or a bar menu that can be eaten at bar tables or an informal restaurant setting in an area close to the bar. in this case meals are ordered at the bar and delivered from the kitchen to the table. The bar menu is different to that in the restaurant but quite extensive and does include full meals.
The bar stocks a decent selection of beers, wines and spirits. Week day bar hours are 1700-2300.
The hotel is on 3 floors with lift and depending on room allocated require a fair walk from the lift to room.
The rooms do vary a bit in size but are basically the same. Ensuite with shower and toilet. twin or double 4'6". Very small flat screen TV on wall with some sky channels. In our experience very clean and well kept.
The hotel is situated on the main Brompton road from Chatham to Gillingham so there can be some traffic noise from road fronting rooms but we have never found this a problem. Very good free wifi.
Check in 3. Check out 12. Good free car park.
The hotel is very good value and cheaper than the likes of Travel Lodge and Premier Inn.
When you check in and wish to charge items to your room during your stay you will need to leave a card swipe, but make sure you confirm how much credit on your card to ensure there is sufficient. The hotel seems to have a strange system. I did this and then found I had insufficient credit next night in the bar even though I had left it "open" on check in. Had to go and add further funds! Bit odd.
Hotel makes good use of EU and other international staff who are excellent. The Thai restaurant matre d is a ball of fire and great!
Rooms have tea/coffee making equipment.
This is a good place and popular. Used extensively for tour groups, works events and weddings.

Room tip: Lift is near low numbers.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for your recent review of the King Charles Hotel
A returning guest is always the best review we can hope for, and I look forward to welcoming you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Great staff, service and bar (I didn't eat here though). An ex-Officers accomodation I think I read. Rooms a bit tired and small but perfectly functional for an overnight stay. It was a very hot night and they had kindly provided a fan.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AlanH294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for your recent review of the King Charles Hotel
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

Rooms here are fine, basic, clean and a bit dated but nonetheless, comfortable. The staff are helpful but the food, is the worst food I have ever tasted. I had "beer batter fish and chips". The batter had never been near any beer and had come straight out of a box. This was cheap, nasty food and to add insult to injury, the fish was so overcooked it was almost as dry as cardboard. If you stay here order take-away.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dinnylinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for your recent review of the King Charles Hotel
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your fish & chips. This is a very popular dish for us, but if you had let us know that you did not like it we would have been able to offer you an alternative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews