We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveller rating
395
342
122
28
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
395
342
122
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harry potter car park the sofa bed free parking rail station lovely location yogurt stayed here for one night minute drive self service booked this hotel family room canal pub hie paper hemel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 898 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2021

3rd stay at this hotel and likely to be the last. Nothing wrong with the room and the hotel was clean enough with the facilities as you would expect. The breakfast & dining area leaves a lot to be desired now though. This may be down to having fewer staff but the table cleaning/clearing wasnt done very quickly. There was a strange sour smell in the breakfast area and during our stay this never went away. The were shortages of breakfast items and cutlery every day as well.
Its still a good location for getting to Warner Brothers, and the train station to London (Euston) is literally across the road.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John666ftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

Great location if visiting the Warner bro studio, also nice pub, little marina and shop all within walking distance.
Lovey staff, and breakfast was great.

Hotel bed was very uncomftable and pillows hard.
Room facilties where dirty and in need of tlc.

Apart from the above its an average hotel get what you pay for.

Room tip: Vending machine and cold water was unavailable
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 393donnae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2021

Booked this particular hotel as we were going to Harry potters studios and choose it due to how close it is to it and the train station opposite so we could go into London. Hotel was very easy to find and has plenty of amenities around it, there is a pub basically in the car park of the hotel, sainsbury down the road and even a range next door . Also plenty of places to eat around it. Harry Potter is about a 10-15 minute drive away from the hotel and very easy to get to and the train station is dead opposite the hotel.
Checked in very easily and staff were lovely, had a 5th floor room but there is a lift so no problem. There was 3 of us in the room so there was a double bed and a sofa bed, both very comfy and slept lovely. Room was very clean, had an iron, hair dryer, kettle with all the stuff to make a drink , TV and plenty of places to put your stuff. If we needed anything else is wasn't a problem staff were very happy to accommodate. Breakfast was included and was lovely , buffet style had usual hot stuff, continental stuff , juice and coffee. Also had to go cups so you could take coffee and tea cakes so you could make hot sandwiches .
Has a bar and you can get food such as pizzas, burger etc...
We used users eats twice and found a lovely pizza place called Hamel pizzas . Had good deals on and was lovely, just told them to ring me when in car park and would go down and get it.
Having train station opposite was so handy , we got the train into London ( euston) which took about 30 mins, would recommend booking tickets before you travel. I booked few days before and a day travel card which included the train into London and the tube.
Also parking is free and there is plenty of it.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Stacey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2021

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express at Hemel Hempstead (Apsley) on Sunday 25th July, 2021. We had a lovely room with all the amenities needed for an overnight stay. Comfortable bed, excellent TV., and tea and coffee facilities. Bathroom was immaculate. Everywhere was spotless. There was a great view of the canal from our bedroom window. On arriving the receptionist was pleasant and polite. Checkin was a breeze. Finally the breakfast was splendid with a good choice to suit all tastes. This Hotel was excellent value for money. We would thoroughly recommend this establishment and would stay again if in vicinity.

Room tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

Stayed here for a couple of nights for a visit to the Warner brothers studio tour. It was pretty easy to find and we had no trouble finding a space in the car park, check in was easy and the room was clean. As usual the cups in the room weren't big enough and there was not enough tea, sugar and milk but you can get extra from reception or the bar easy enough. There is a nice pub about a 2 minute walk but it's not cheap and didn't really fancy the menu to eat there. The first night we eat in the hotel, it was good and not a bad price. The hotel is very close to the canal and we had a lovely walk along there. The room has air conditioning, it isn't the most efficient I have come across but was a godsend as the weather was so hot. It's an easy drive to the studios so a good option if visiting. We also ate at a lovely Italian on the other side of the canal which is definitely worth a visit. Breakfast is pretty standard and the area where you get it is fairly small so can seem a bit crowded. Would stay again if we were in this area.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ali622
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews