We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, disappointing service”
Review of The Old Beams Inn

The Old Beams Inn
Ranked #32 of 69 Restaurants in Ringwood
Price range: US$1 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are food and beverage let venue with our core values based on quality of service. Under new management from the end of September 2020, we have taken the direction to bring The Old Beams at Ibsley back to its former glory. The Old beams offers: Fresh food at affordable prices, Daily dining specials, Fully homemade desserts, Wedding licensed from Jan 2021 Function room, Parties and group booking, Quality beer, Guest ales, Gin mixologists, Premium wines, Seasonal menus, Warm & inviting restaurant table service. Rear secure car parking
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went this evening for a nice dinner as a group of friends, we were greeted by a lovely waitress who showed us to a beautiful table. We were asked what drinks we wanted before we sat down but no drinks menu provided and so said not yet. So we chose our food and when the waiter came to our table we asked if there was a drinks menu. But none to be found. We then ordered our food which came promptly and was delicious, can’t fault it, big portions and reasonable pricing.

However, after we finished eating we sat for 15 minutes with empty plates before finally asking a passing waitress for our bill which did come quite quickly. When the bill arrived the waitress just stood there and asked how we were splitting the bill before requesting one of us to use a phone to work out the split, which is no problem and we would have done ourselves if given the space and time to do so. She then proceeded to linger over our shoulders until we worked it out roughly and then said ‘I guess I’ll have to trust you’ to which we suggested we double check it only to find we were 2p short.
Therefore we gave the money over in cash as we had it on us and left. On our way out we noticed the waitress brandishing the money to her fellow servers and clearly commenting on the situation and then followed by being stared at the whole way out. Upsetting and rude.

Overall, the food was delicious, and some of the servers appeared very helpful. But some in particular do appear to need work on their professionalism and table side manner.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Camper58339520776
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Old Beams, General Manager at The Old Beams Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We can only apologise you did not enjoy your experience with us.
We have a wine list at the back of our menu however like most pubs we do not have an official drinks menu, our staff all know the soft drinks/lagers and ales that we sell and are more than happy to tell you what we have.
We are glad you enjoyed the food!
We apologise your plates were not cleared immediately however we have seen a large influx of customers due to the summer season along with everyone wanting to come out after covid!

We will be looking into the issue off one our waitresses brandishing your money around and we will continue to do regular training within our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a lovely meal here. Four adults plus one dog. Service was faultless, they even thought of the dog bringing a bowl of water to the table, food excellent! Homemade pie of the day was delicious! Slightly different interior than expected from the outside but was good, plenty of space between tables. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank babsjoy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Old Beams, General Manager at The Old Beams Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are really glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I can't recommend this pub highly enough. The staff was fabulous, friendly, welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. They welcomed us with open arms despite us being a party with 5 large dogs, 4 children, one of whom is 2 years old and 3 adults. They have vegan options which was great and were very ready to check ingredients for us. We came back a few times and definitely will again. The pub is gorgeous too.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank lovedayshuskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Old Beams, General Manager at The Old Beams Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely comments!
We all really loved have you and al your huskies in!!
We hope to see you again when you are local!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

Excellent service from Amy & her team
Nothing too much trouble and made us feel very welcome
We were a large group of 13 so nice to see such organisation and brilliant attention to details
Food very good and represents great value for money
We would return as Amy made it a great experience for us which is hard to find in large group bookings

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Explorer34256438704
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Old Beams, General Manager at The Old Beams Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely comments!
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Totally different inside from the cosy thatched exterior. Not convinced that the pie was “home made”. The accompanying chips were frozen not freshly made and the veg was frozen mixed veg which ended up soggy and tasteless. On the other hand my other half thoroughly enjoyed her meal.
There is no excuse for serving warm white wine.
The place was not busy but the service was erratic and not that helpful.
Perhaps we chose the wrong night.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Agnes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike, General Manager at The Old Beams Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Good Morning,
I want to apologise for the less than exceptional service you received while visiting The Old Beams.

Firstly we pride ourselves on our large home made menu and can only apologise for the pie being anything less than amazing.
Further more I will be looking into the other points raised regarding our food and bringing the necessary action to ensure we never have another issue like this again.

As with most hospitality venues at the moment staffing has been a struggle and unfortunately service has been effected, however with a lot of effort put into training, please be assured this was a once off.

We hope this hasn't put you off visiting again,
Regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Beams Inn also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Old Beams Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.