We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had table booked but unable”
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Morston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 19 May 2021 via mobile

Had table booked but unable to park as full. Friend is disabled and told we couldn’t park outside and told to go half a mile away which would be too far to walk and also very dangerous as no footpaths. Had to cancel table. So disappointed

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank patrician227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2021

This lovely looking pub was closed when we strolled up halfway through a walk, but the friendly landlord came out to see us and explain. He was very helpful and gave us lots of useful local information – including the correct way to say ‘Stiffkey’!

We’ll definitely be back when it’s open!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Service
Thank NorthantsNige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2020 via mobile

Fabulous meal. Steaks, mussells all great. Calamari to start was the best we’ve had for a long time. Lovely environment, good selection of beer, pleasant staff. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank woodenforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2020

We had walked from Morston to Cley and back on the Norfolk coast path and were late (but phoned ahead and all was OK), thirsty and hungry. The Anchor was, as ever, up to the challenge.
From the extensive menu my partner selected whitebait as a starter and I chose a "starter sized" Brancaster mussels. It was huge, I can't imagine what a main course would look like!
For main course my partner chose another starter, a selection of warm breads and dips whilst I had the fish and chips. Both were huge and we struggled to do them justice, as a result of which we passed on dessert and simply had (excellent) coffees.
The pub grows in popularity which is well deserved. It has a warm, friendly ambience, dogs are welcomed and the staff are excellent.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mgsnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2020

The halibut was delicious , and even though I’m not a lover of polenta, the polenta chips were something else. My husband tucked into mussels and fish and chips. A glass of wine by the fire, how else would you spend a Friday afternoon!!

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lindasmith146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

Burnham Overy Staithe, Norfolk
 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.