We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
64
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel welcome drink king crab spitsbergen hotel spent one night mini bar nespresso machine three nights comfortable beds midnight sun gloves minibar wilderness slippers svalbard amenities lounge
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Funken is a well-equipped hotel in peaceful surroundings. Nice rooms and a good bed. The breakfast nice where the chef offers to cook the eggs at your own request. With an uphill room, you don't have as good view as the other side. But in return you have the chance to se reindeers grazing on the mountain side.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurtigruten S, 1 receptionist at Funken Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Hello Ingi,

I am glad to hear that you discovered the advantage by not having a veiw. Not only do we have our local reindeers wandering around the hotel, we also have a polarfox - I call him Kevin. He likes to sneak around the backside of the hotel and he is very curious to see what we are doing everyday.

August in Svalbard can be a bit windy, but nontheless still absolutely beautiful. The wind causes the clouds to make so many different colours over the mountains and breathtaking sunsets.
Same thing happens again in February- March when the sun once again returns to Longyearbyen. Except then you are not on a boat or on top of a mountain, but on a snowmobile.
Maybe you will join us for a ride to Svea, Barentzburg orTempelfjorden next year?

Have a nice week :-)

Kind regards
Thea
Front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Funken Lodge is a brand new and very hip hotel. Rooms are well designed and beds are very comfortable. Nice in-room beverage fridge and coffeemaker. Fantastic restaurant with superb and expansive wine list. Do walk down to town and back!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank himle2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurtigruten S, 1 receptionist at Funken Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hello,

Sounds like you enjoyed your stay here at Funken Lodge. Did you try the King Crab Cappuccino? Or the King Crab lollipop? Those two are my absolute favourites.
Do you know the reason for our "superb" winelist? Funken Lodge was the place where all the "funktionærer" lived during the mining era and a officemanager from Store Norske (who lived at Funken for 13 years) wanted Funken to have a "respectable" wine cellar for fine visitors and therefore made sure we had a good selection.
If you would like to return to us one day we can show you around in our champagne and wine cellar and offer a tasting as well :-)

Enjoy your week!

Kind regards
Thea
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We enjoyed our stay at the Funken Lodge in Longyearbyen, Svalbard. The lodge itself has very well appointed modern rooms, including bathrooms with heated floors and very comfortable beds with down featherbeds.

The main lodge is very nicely decorated and there are many good places to sit and the location of the property is within easy walking distance of the main town center in Longyearbyen. We saw some reindeer on our walk into town and enjoyed the views of the surrounding mountains.

The restaurant at the lodge is very good and the breakfast buffet, included in the room, was exceptionally good, with a wide variety of seafood, eggs, meats, cheeses, breads, pastries, cereals, yoghurts and fruits, as well as pancakes and waffles and great homemade pickles of many types.

The management was also very helpful in arranging excursions and we really enjoyed the cruise on the fast catamaran to the glacier and the abandoned mine at Pyramiden and they connected us with our taxi driver Jay for a wonderful final tour around the area on our last day, where we were able to see the rest of the surrounding area before flying out.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WellTraveled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurtigruten S, 1 Receptionist at Funken Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hello,

It sounds you had a wonderful stay here with us at Funken Lodge. I am so glad we could help you to make your stay more memorable.
I love taking boat rides in Svalbard. The mountains are so beautiful and all the puffins flying everywhere.
In the dark season you can take boatrides in the dark to look at the northern lights! Truly amazing to experience

Have a nice week :-)

Kind regards
Thea
Front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Nice and beautiful hotel in Svalbard. Just renovated. Also very good breakfast, gluten free options and good service. Can definitely recommend it for others. Svalbard is also very nice area for unique experience

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Eddie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurtigruten S, 1 receptionist at Funken Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Hello Eddie,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I hope you enjoyed your time here with us.

I absolutely agree with you - Svalbard is a place for unique experiences. Many of the people moving to the island where actually tourists first who fell in love with the island and had to come back. We have so many different season with so much to offer - people cant get enough of it.

So if you do decide to come back to us one day as well - I would reccomend trying a different season! The 26th of August the sun will go down (but only for 20-40 min) for the first time since March and in the end of October we will have our dark season. Dark season also means hot chocolate while looking at northern lights. I cant wait! Let us know if you want to join us ;-)

Have a nice day :-)

Kind regards
Thea
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Comfortable, warm renovated hotel.
Helpfull staff.
Great breakfast with an unusual feature for Norway. ...espresso coffee!
Nespresso machine also provided in room.
Reasonable walk to shops, pub and restaurants in summer.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurtigruten S, 1 receptionist at Funken Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Hello Victor,

It is so nice to start the morning with a nice cup of coffee - specially if you have the amazing veiw from Funktionærmessen.
Hope you had some nice walks around in our charming city and enjoyed some of the activities that the town has to offer.
My favourite now in the summer is to take a boat ride. The mountains are so beautiful with all the bird life and the polar fox sneaking around. And if the whales says hello from under the water as well - then it is just a perfect day.

If you would like to return to us one day, dont hesitate to contact us - we would love to welcome you back :-)

Have a nice day!

Kind regards
Thea
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews