We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Four wheel driving & camping paradise.

A group of mates bush camping & four wheel driving found the experience truly memorable. If any one... read more

Reviewed 6 April 2016
errolc_11
,
Adelaide, Australia
Argadells Station

What a magic place this is. We visited here for 3 days during September, which is the best time of... read more

Reviewed 15 December 2015
Lyn P
,
Adelaide, Australia
Read all 7 reviews
  
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
6
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
0
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2016

A group of mates bush camping & four wheel driving found the experience truly memorable. If any one likes camping, bush walking, four wheel driving or just is a nature lover then this is the place to visit. Stay at the caravan park or in accommodation, or like us bush camp with a long-drop toilet amongst roos, parrots & other native animals. We have done a lot of four wheel driving but this place beats them all. I would actually call it paradise for 4WD lovers with challenges around almost every corner of the 70kms of tracks. Malcolm & Judy made us feel very welcome & are great friendly people. This place is a must do but careful if you try a low clearance vehicle. We could have stayed longer but some had a job to go back to. We will definitely be going back there more than one more time. Seeing a Yellow footed rock wallaby off the side of a track eating leaves off a tree with no attention to our presence was a great experience also. YOU GOTTA GO THERE.

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank errolc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

What a magic place this is. We visited here for 3 days during September, which is the best time of year. Very green and lots of wild flowers out at that time. The property is very rugged and caters for all sorts. There are non-powered camp sites around the property along with a small caravan park area, which can accommodate approx 12 vans, and also has 3-4 cabins. There is a fantastic camp kitchen with bbq/oven/stove/microwave/fridge/crockery/saucepans for use, plus a games room with 8 ball and table tennis. There is also an old overseers cottage, close to the Homestead available for hire. Everything is neat as a pin. The owners are two of the most friendly accommodating people you would hope to come across, and make you feel like a long lost friend. There is four wheel driving around the property, from moderate to extreme. Add your Go-Pro camera for the birds' eye view of 4WD.The view from the high point Mount Arden, gives 360º views across Spencer Gulf and inland to the Flinders Ranges. Gob-smacking awesome, take a camera. Camping accommodates vans (certain areas only due to ruggedness), tents, and camper trailers, and most of these areas have a loo, or you can be a bit more secluded with none of the cons. Lots of different spots to 'make your own private stay'. Good walking shoes a must if you want to explore on foot. Bike riding also available for the energetic, but take a mountain bike. Countryside varies from gentle rounded hills, to very rugged rocks and outcrops. Yellow tailed rock wallabies live here, and we loved spotting them. Abseiling and rock climbing activities available for those keen enough. Come visit Argadells and just sit back and relax, or have an adventure. We loved it.

Date of experience: September 2015
3  Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We wanted a peaceful, tranquil spot in the Flinders were we could go hiking, 4WD & have some quality family time and we found it at Argadells. The facilities, amenities & accommodation were spotless. The table tennis & pool table in the hall were highlights in the evening for family battles along with the fire pit where marshmellows & chocolate banana boats were prepared & eaten. The hikes we did in and around the property were spectacular offering breathtaking views, great wildlife and exciting discoveries. Unfortunately we were unable to do the 4WD track up to Mt Arden due to heavy rainfall the night before (nothing wrong with this part of the world getting a drink), but that means we will be back to visit sometime soon. Thanks to Malcolm & Judy (the property owners) for a great little spot. RELAX, ESCAPE, LAUGH, EXPLORE, DISCOVER.

Date of experience: July 2015
2  Thank escape69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

We stayed in a tent there and enjoyed the tenting experience. The equipment was arranged by Paul Keen of Wallabee travels for us else we would have to buy the equipment.there was quite a lot of wildlife like Kangaroos ,Wallabees,Wallaroos,and some birds.If you know how to drive a 4w drive well and can manage to navigate the place based on maps then you will enjoy some nice scenic views. The sunset is fantastic. You have a lot more staying options like campervans and cottages. If this place is enroute your travels then it is an opt for this else this can be given a miss.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank babla75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We wanted to stay near port augusta on our drive north from adelaide to coober pedy. Port augusta is a bit of a dive so we headed to argadelles just thirty min outside of quorn.

It's surrounded by hills, gorges and has plenty of wildlife inc yellow footed rock wallabies.

Cabins are comfortable. A/c, heater, shower, hot water & a basic kitchen.

Highly recommended

3  Thank Otto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews