We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Ride”

Pichi Richi Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$682.41*
and up
6-Day Eyre Peninsula Small-Group Camping Tour...
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Quorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch the ancient landscape of the Flinders Ranges roll past as you relax in the style of a bygone era. Built in the 1870s, this unique railway is the last remaining operating portion of the "Old Ghan" narrow-gauge line. After being abandoned in the 1950's, the Railway was revived in 1974 by the volunteers of the Pichi Richi Railway Preservation Society who have progressively restored a remarkable collection of heritage locomotives and carriages. Trains operate March - November. Visit our website for timetable and bookings.
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Something that was on my wish list for a very long time and I was not disappointed. The people were very friendly, the train and carriages were well restored. We managed to get in the commisioners carriage for the ride. The scenery was excellent, we were lucky to have rain on our trip which bought out the colours of the landscape. it is a good idea to visit a tourist office to obtin a time table as the train runs alternate weeks from Port Augusta.

Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hi Colin. Thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip on the Commissioner's carriage "Flinders". We will pass your review on to our volunteer members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"port augusta"
in 29 reviews
"woolshed flat"
in 14 reviews
"pichi richi"
in 16 reviews
"step back in time"
in 7 reviews
"steam engine"
in 8 reviews
"return journey"
in 7 reviews
"all ages"
in 6 reviews
"flinders ranges"
in 21 reviews
"coffee pot"
in 5 reviews
"pies"
in 5 reviews
"young children"
in 4 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 4 reviews
"quorn station"
in 4 reviews
"great morning"
in 4 reviews
"morning tea"
in 4 reviews
"feral goats"
in 2 reviews
"restored carriages"
in 3 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2018

It was a great experience to ride on this old steam train as it pulled the 5 carriages fully loaded with passengers up the hill to The Summit and then downhill to Woolshed Flat. It certainly was a grand old engine, now lovingly maintained with shiny paintwork. After changing to the opposite end, it was all systems go as she chugged it's way back up the hill and down the other side. As there was a music festival going on in Quorn at the time, a lot of the musicians entertained us as we travelled in the carriages. Overall a great time.

Thank Winnebago_Nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

A very enjoyable ride on a beautiful old steam engine. The staff were very nice and helpful and it is a credit to them as they are all volunteers. We went to Woolshed Flat for morning tea/lunch and there was a variety of food and drinks on offer (pies, pasties etc). You could sit inside or under the verandah. Some car enthusiasts brought their vehicles out for a drive so we could see them. We then returned back to Quorn on the train. This is an experience for all ages.

Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thanks for your review Kerry. We will pass your comments on to our volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We went from Quorn to Woolshed Flat and return. This is a good shorter trip if you haven't got time for the full trip from Port Augusta to Quorn, which we had done years ago. The train has to climb over a hill and works hard, and the scenery is beautiful. The volunteer carriage host was a mine of information. You can stand on the ends of the carriages in the open, or even put your head out the window with care (mind the soot and cinders). The refreshment room at Woolshed Flat was a model of efficiency in serving a full Easter load of passengers very quickly. Recommend this trip.

Thank yvwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thanks for your review. Easter and the school holidays have certainly been busy for our volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful project all done by very keen enthusiastic volunteers. We had a 2 car diesel train but steam trains were also running each day of the Easter weekend. Great crowds of passengers. Gift shop and visitor information too.

1  Thank Marian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thankyou for your review Marian. I am informed that the 70 year old had a wonderful time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pichi Richi Railway also viewed

Quorn, Flinders Ranges
Quorn, Flinders Ranges
 

Been to Pichi Richi Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing