We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Pichi Richi Railway tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Quorn
from US$1,242.60
More Info
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
107
27
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
27
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews port augusta woolshed flat pichi richi steam engine return journey coffee pot flinders ranges all ages pies quorn station morning tea young children alice springs great trip hour trip feral goats smooth operation
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We went from Quorn to Woolshed Flat and return. This is a good shorter trip if you haven't got time for the full trip from Port Augusta to Quorn, which we had done years ago. The train has to climb over a hill and works hard, and the scenery is beautiful. The volunteer carriage host was a mine of information. You can stand on the ends of the carriages in the open, or even put your head out the window with care (mind the soot and cinders). The refreshment room at Woolshed Flat was a model of efficiency in serving a full Easter load of passengers very quickly. Recommend this trip.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank yvwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thanks for your review. Easter and the school holidays have certainly been busy for our volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful project all done by very keen enthusiastic volunteers. We had a 2 car diesel train but steam trains were also running each day of the Easter weekend. Great crowds of passengers. Gift shop and visitor information too.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Marian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thankyou for your review Marian. I am informed that the 70 year old had a wonderful time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We went on the twilight explorer which departs Quorn at 5.30 pm using the 1928-built Barwell Bull diesel railcar. It travels to woolshed flat with a stop for 20 minutes where there are toilets available and the also sell some light refreshments (or take your own). The views are very nice and we were able to see lots of wildlife. There are volunteers on board who can offer information about the history of the railway. You get back to quorn at 8pm. A great trip - check the website for dates when they run the trains. The steam train only runs in the cooler months.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Hi David,

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your Twilight Explorer trip on the Barwell Bull. I will pass your comments on to our volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This was my third trip on tge Pichi Richi and I hope that it will not be my list. Each day, we have planned it so that we get one of tge okd steam locos and to date, this has worked out. The locos and xarriages have been beautifully restored and the staff, both onboard and in the ticket offices, are friendly and knowledgeable.

The ride itself is through some amazing countryside. I spent most of it standing outside so that I could make the most of the scenery and the colours. We saw both kangaroos and emus, and even a wedding party having their photos taken amongst the gums.

Well done to all the volunteers who make such a great day possible. Am already looking forward onthe next time.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Lizzie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Lizzie. Thank you for review. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip on Pichi Richi Railway. We will pass your comments on to our volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This train (steam) departs from the Port Augusta railway station at 10.30 am. We arrived early as we had pre booked on the internet and had to check in. The train consisted of a steam engine (NM25) and 3 passenger carriages and a guards van. The trip is about 40kms from Port Augusta to Quorn. The trip is slow and gives you plenty of time to sit and relax and look at the scenery. We arrived at Quorn around 1pm and had time to have lunch and walk around the town. There were a number of shops open. At the railway station there is a museum, souvenir shop ect. The return trip was just as enjoyable. Staff were friendly and spoke of points of interests. Overall a very enjoyable day and will do it again. This trip was during school holidays and most children were well behaved.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi John. Thanks for your comments. This year has been a bit of a challenge as we have been without our usual carriages due to some maintenance issues. This has often led to slower running than we would like. We are glad that you still enjoyed the trip and that you will consider coming back.

We will pass your comments on to our volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews