We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Train Ride”

Pichi Richi Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$681.21*
and up
6-Day Eyre Peninsula Small-Group Camping Tour...
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Quorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch the ancient landscape of the Flinders Ranges roll past as you relax in the style of a bygone era. Built in the 1870s, this unique railway is the last remaining operating portion of the "Old Ghan" narrow-gauge line. After being abandoned in the 1950's, the Railway was revived in 1974 by the volunteers of the Pichi Richi Railway Preservation Society who have progressively restored a remarkable collection of heritage locomotives and carriages. Trains operate March - November. Visit our website for timetable and bookings.
Reviewed 28 April 2018

A very enjoyable ride on a beautiful old steam engine. The staff were very nice and helpful and it is a credit to them as they are all volunteers. We went to Woolshed Flat for morning tea/lunch and there was a variety of food and drinks on offer (pies, pasties etc). You could sit inside or under the verandah. Some car enthusiasts brought their vehicles out for a drive so we could see them. We then returned back to Quorn on the train. This is an experience for all ages.

Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thanks for your review Kerry. We will pass your comments on to our volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"port augusta"
in 29 reviews
"woolshed flat"
in 14 reviews
"pichi richi"
in 16 reviews
"step back in time"
in 7 reviews
"steam engine"
in 8 reviews
"return journey"
in 7 reviews
"all ages"
in 6 reviews
"flinders ranges"
in 21 reviews
"coffee pot"
in 5 reviews
"pies"
in 5 reviews
"young children"
in 4 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 4 reviews
"quorn station"
in 4 reviews
"great morning"
in 4 reviews
"morning tea"
in 4 reviews
"feral goats"
in 2 reviews
"restored carriages"
in 3 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2018

We went from Quorn to Woolshed Flat and return. This is a good shorter trip if you haven't got time for the full trip from Port Augusta to Quorn, which we had done years ago. The train has to climb over a hill and works hard, and the scenery is beautiful. The volunteer carriage host was a mine of information. You can stand on the ends of the carriages in the open, or even put your head out the window with care (mind the soot and cinders). The refreshment room at Woolshed Flat was a model of efficiency in serving a full Easter load of passengers very quickly. Recommend this trip.

Thank yvwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thanks for your review. Easter and the school holidays have certainly been busy for our volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful project all done by very keen enthusiastic volunteers. We had a 2 car diesel train but steam trains were also running each day of the Easter weekend. Great crowds of passengers. Gift shop and visitor information too.

1  Thank Marian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thankyou for your review Marian. I am informed that the 70 year old had a wonderful time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We went on the twilight explorer which departs Quorn at 5.30 pm using the 1928-built Barwell Bull diesel railcar. It travels to woolshed flat with a stop for 20 minutes where there are toilets available and the also sell some light refreshments (or take your own). The views are very nice and we were able to see lots of wildlife. There are volunteers on board who can offer information about the history of the railway. You get back to quorn at 8pm. A great trip - check the website for dates when they run the trains. The steam train only runs in the cooler months.

Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Hi David,

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your Twilight Explorer trip on the Barwell Bull. I will pass your comments on to our volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This was my third trip on tge Pichi Richi and I hope that it will not be my list. Each day, we have planned it so that we get one of tge okd steam locos and to date, this has worked out. The locos and xarriages have been beautifully restored and the staff, both onboard and in the ticket offices, are friendly and knowledgeable.

The ride itself is through some amazing countryside. I spent most of it standing outside so that I could make the most of the scenery and the colours. We saw both kangaroos and emus, and even a wedding party having their photos taken amongst the gums.

Well done to all the volunteers who make such a great day possible. Am already looking forward onthe next time.

Thank Lizzie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Lizzie. Thank you for review. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip on Pichi Richi Railway. We will pass your comments on to our volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pichi Richi Railway also viewed

Quorn, Flinders Ranges
Quorn, Flinders Ranges
 

Been to Pichi Richi Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing