We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a day!”

Pichi Richi Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$682.41*
and up
6-Day Eyre Peninsula Small-Group Camping Tour...
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Quorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch the ancient landscape of the Flinders Ranges roll past as you relax in the style of a bygone era. Built in the 1870s, this unique railway is the last remaining operating portion of the "Old Ghan" narrow-gauge line. After being abandoned in the 1950's, the Railway was revived in 1974 by the volunteers of the Pichi Richi Railway Preservation Society who have progressively restored a remarkable collection of heritage locomotives and carriages. Trains operate March - November. Visit our website for timetable and bookings.
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This was my third trip on tge Pichi Richi and I hope that it will not be my list. Each day, we have planned it so that we get one of tge okd steam locos and to date, this has worked out. The locos and xarriages have been beautifully restored and the staff, both onboard and in the ticket offices, are friendly and knowledgeable.

The ride itself is through some amazing countryside. I spent most of it standing outside so that I could make the most of the scenery and the colours. We saw both kangaroos and emus, and even a wedding party having their photos taken amongst the gums.

Well done to all the volunteers who make such a great day possible. Am already looking forward onthe next time.

Thank Lizzie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Lizzie. Thank you for review. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip on Pichi Richi Railway. We will pass your comments on to our volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"port augusta"
in 29 reviews
"woolshed flat"
in 14 reviews
"pichi richi"
in 16 reviews
"step back in time"
in 7 reviews
"steam engine"
in 8 reviews
"return journey"
in 7 reviews
"all ages"
in 6 reviews
"flinders ranges"
in 21 reviews
"coffee pot"
in 5 reviews
"pies"
in 5 reviews
"young children"
in 4 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 4 reviews
"quorn station"
in 4 reviews
"great morning"
in 4 reviews
"morning tea"
in 4 reviews
"feral goats"
in 2 reviews
"restored carriages"
in 3 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

This train (steam) departs from the Port Augusta railway station at 10.30 am. We arrived early as we had pre booked on the internet and had to check in. The train consisted of a steam engine (NM25) and 3 passenger carriages and a guards van. The trip is about 40kms from Port Augusta to Quorn. The trip is slow and gives you plenty of time to sit and relax and look at the scenery. We arrived at Quorn around 1pm and had time to have lunch and walk around the town. There were a number of shops open. At the railway station there is a museum, souvenir shop ect. The return trip was just as enjoyable. Staff were friendly and spoke of points of interests. Overall a very enjoyable day and will do it again. This trip was during school holidays and most children were well behaved.

1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi John. Thanks for your comments. This year has been a bit of a challenge as we have been without our usual carriages due to some maintenance issues. This has often led to slower running than we would like. We are glad that you still enjoyed the trip and that you will consider coming back.

We will pass your comments on to our volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Staff are amazing. While train stationary, my children were allowed where the driver goes for photos and it wasn't just a photo and get off, they were looking at everything and really enjoying their time. The train ride itself was enjoyable, very relaxed on board and informative staff. The stop at wool shed flat was good, plenty of seating and shade, along with toilets and baby change. We took our own snacks but you could buy coffee and ice cream from the CASH ONLY canteen.

1  Thank mumoffour2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

It was a must do activity in Quorn.
I booked the stream train trip from Quorn well in advance.
On the day it was heavily booked with extra carriages added. It was a great 3 hour return trip.
Weather was perfect in late spring.
A glorious display of Wattle, senna and other flowering natives.
Plan your trip to Quorn around the train timetable.

Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks for your review Robert. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip on the Pichi Richi Explorer. The October school holiday has been quite a challenge with good numbers on our trains

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Did the 'Afghan Express' day return from Port Augusta to Quorn. It was a great day for families, enthusiasts or just people who want to do the trip. Very well-organised and the steam engines were in superb condition. The volunteer staff were all really friendly, and each car had a 'Captain' . Ours was Barbara and she was very nice, really helpful and informative. There are no toilets or refreshments in the train but adequate stops. Quorn is a nice little place and plenty of places for lunch. Really recommended.

Thank Tonymf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railfan2014, Manager at Pichi Richi Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks for your review Tony. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip on the Afghan Express. We will pass your compliments on to Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pichi Richi Railway also viewed

Quorn, Flinders Ranges
Quorn, Flinders Ranges
 

Been to Pichi Richi Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing