We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again ”
Review of Salt Mission Beach

Salt Mission Beach
Ranked #26 of 36 Restaurants in Mission Beach
Price range: US$6 - US$47
Description: TAPAS ~ PLATTERS ~ FRESH SEAFOOD Experience a unique way of dining with our Himalayan Salt Blocks with cook-it-yourself options.
Restaurant details
Description: TAPAS ~ PLATTERS ~ FRESH SEAFOOD Experience a unique way of dining with our Himalayan Salt Blocks with cook-it-yourself options.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second time dining at Salt. Our first experience back in July 2020 was lovely. We a party of 5 had dinner here on Easter Sunday as they had live music playing.
First thing l noticed was a guy dressed in a very grey/brown/stained chefs jacket walking downstairs with a serving of chips and a plate of arancini balls. We are ent upstairs and were greeted by our waitress, menus were given out and water offered
2 guests ordered the bruschetta, both said it was very uninteresting and on the tasteless side. 1 ordered bread which was fine, 2 ordered salt and pepper calamari which was just frozen from a box and not restaurant quality by any means. Main meals ordered were 1 x duck leg confit, fine but nothing spectacular, 1 x salt block cooked sirloin steak, side of roasted potato’s and side of mixed greens which were blackened and quite bitter steak and potatoes lovely. 1 x sirloin cooked by chef side of mixed greens again blackened and bitter, the steak was not edible it was off! You could smell it and taste it. Patron asked waitress to take it back to chef. Chef appears in the very dirty uniform we had noticed earlier. No apology was forthcoming he said that there was nothing wrong with the steak, he and the other chef both tasted it, and we were wrong, offered to take it off the bill which patron accepted. We were offered a replacement meal but due to the chefs appearance we also declined the offer to make more food.
None of our group will attend this restaurant again which is such a shame because when it first opened it was lovely but they have definitely dropped the ball on quality. If this is how the chef/operator appears l can only imagine what the kitchen looks like

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Rainie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2021 via mobile

Omg I have no words just amazing
Never expected A first class restaurant in a caravan park
Coral trout with bisque and scallops with the most amazing water melon salad
My partner has the lamb blackstrap on sizzling salt block omg again amazing and lovely deserts
Just an amazing and surprising nite.The waitress was friendly knowledgeable and als made for a perfect night thank you

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank DTownsvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

Had a really lovely meal here at Salt last week. It was bucketing down outside, which made a lovely backdrop. We chose 4 tapas dishes to share; Confit Duck, Pork Belly, Mushroom Risotto and Calamari. They were all very good, with the Duck and Pork Belly, slightly ahead. They were so good we ordered another of each! We shouldn’t have in hindsight though as were left incredibly full, hardly a complaint though lol
My only criticism, that prevented a 5 star review was that you couldn’t BYO your own wine and had to go up and downstairs to the bar to get your drinks, which made the meal a little disjointed.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank DAMIHATHSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

Food is amazing, from tapas to desert. Highly recommend when you are in mission beach. People are smiley and the place is relax and chill.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank morganem934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020

Food is nice but expensive given you are surrounded by campers. Children running around. You have to go downstairs to get your own drinks and staff didn’t seem interested and dismissive. Steak on the salt rock was nice but very salty. Too salty for me to eat. No toilet paper in ladies toilet nor hand wash and hand dryer didn’t work. Mentioned to staff but 10 minutes later still not done. I expect more when charging up to $40 for a meal.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Speegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Mission Beach also viewed

Bingil Bay, Mission Beach
Mission Beach, Queensland
 
Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach
 

Been to Salt Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.