We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fly With Me!”

QANTAS Founders Museum
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Longreach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to the Qantas Founders Museum.We are an independent not-for-profit community organization and registered charity, operating since 1996, to commemorate the ethos and preserve the material heritage of the founders and early operations of Qantas Airways Ltd. Today, we are a world-class museum and cultural display, eloquently telling the story of the founding of Qantas through interpretive displays, interactive exhibits, replica aircraft and an impressive collection of genuine artifacts. Our collection incorporates four of the world’s most significant airliners – the Consolidated PBY Catalina Flying Boat, the Douglas DC3, the Boeing 707 and the legendary Boeing 747. In addition, we have full scale replicas of some of the most important aircraft in the early Qantas fleet – the DeHaviland DH-61 Giant Moth, the DeHaviland DH-50, and the Avro 504k Dyak; Qantas’ first ever aircraft.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Always being an aircraft buff I was blown away by the Qantas Founders Museum. Not only did it show, with all the warts, how the great Airline started but also how flight has grown in Australia in such a short time!
We spent all afternoon reading, watching, sitting in and touching the start of what we take for granted, having got a pass out,we went back next day and did a hands on tour of DC3 a 707 and a 747. There are a variety of tours you can do depending on how much you want to spend, personally I think it is worth every penny.

Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing M, Guest Relations Manager at QANTAS Founders Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Colin C

Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear you had a great time at our museum and used our Pass Out ticket to return the next day. Thank you for supporting our museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jet tour"
in 156 reviews
"platinum tour"
in 31 reviews
"flight simulator"
in 26 reviews
"walk tour"
in 23 reviews
"jumbo jet"
in 21 reviews
"on display"
in 41 reviews
"static displays"
in 18 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 29 reviews
"early days"
in 19 reviews
"great history"
in 21 reviews
"we spent hours"
in 12 reviews
"allow plenty of time"
in 16 reviews
"australian history"
in 25 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 14 reviews
"stockmans hall of fame"
in 14 reviews
"first class"
in 16 reviews
"wing"
in 225 reviews
Filter

25 - 29 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really well put together museum. Filled with history. A great restaurant and the guided tour was well worth the extra $

Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing M, Guest Relations Manager at QANTAS Founders Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Raymond C

Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you had a great time. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in our region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Qantas Founders Museum is a must-see for people of all ages. My husband and I spent all day at this museum and went back the following day again! Very well done to the entire team - everyone was very friendly and accommodating

Thank salgregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing M, Guest Relations Manager at QANTAS Founders Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and glad to hear you had a great time at our museum. We want all our visitors to feel welcome and enjoy their time with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Outback Queensland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This founders museum is definately worth a visit, we spent about 5hrs here and it still wasnt ong enough.
The planes that they have are amazing to see

Thank 30Michelle1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing M, Guest Relations Manager at QANTAS Founders Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and for visiting our museum. Most visitors spend an average of four hours in the museum so you have done well! Thank you for supporting our museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is great place to visit.It has an onsite cafe McGuiness that is good & great place to sit down for a rest whilst visiting.Something for people of all ages to see.Second time we have been as we ran out of time last year after doing the outside plane tour.That is good but a lot of standing up & stairs especially if it is hot.Enjoyed a walk around the original hanger and the movement generated commentary was good.The Museum & gift shop are good and we also enjoyed the diosplay of the adopted children and their mothers was great along with the warninhg on entry of what to expect.Would highly recommend visiting the Qantas Museum and looking at the visitors it's a busy place

Thank dave548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing M, Guest Relations Manager at QANTAS Founders Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and for returning to visit our museum. There is a lot to see in the Museum so we are glad you have got to experience it all. Safe travels for the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed QANTAS Founders Museum also viewed

 

Been to QANTAS Founders Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing