We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic day out to Kuranda”

Kuranda Scenic Railway
Ranked #7 of 31 things to do in Kuranda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The original Kuranda Scenic Railway is a spectacular journey comprising unsurpassed views of World Heritage Listed rainforest, steep ravines and picuresque waterfalls within the Barron Gorge National Park. This famous railway winds its way from Cairns to Kuranda, the village in the rainforest. Constructed between 1882 and 1891 it is considered an engineering feat of tremendous magnitude. Hundreds of men were employed to build the 15 hand-made tunnels and 37 bridges that stand as a monument to the pioneers of tropical North Queensland
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Took the scenic railway to Kuranda and the cable car (Skyrail) back down. The rail journey was leisurely and a nice slow pace up the hill. The scenery was fantastic and the commentary informative. We took the gold pass and this was very nice but the same or near experience could be had without the upgrade. The personnel on the train were excellent and nothing was too hard for them. Always smiling and friendly.
The cable car trip down was majestic and you could get off at any station to go on bush walks etc then resume the journey when finished.

Kuranda was very pleasant and a couple of bush walks around the village were nice.

A great day out and well recommended.

Thank Garny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thanks for the review Garny! Appreciate the feedback. Happy to hear you enjoyed the historic little journey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"freshwater station"
in 93 reviews
"scenic railway"
in 140 reviews
"sky rail"
in 163 reviews
"window seat"
in 52 reviews
"train trip"
in 78 reviews
"barron falls"
in 151 reviews
"cable car"
in 89 reviews
"great train ride"
in 20 reviews
"gold class carriage"
in 16 reviews
"return trip"
in 41 reviews
"comfortable seats"
in 16 reviews
"cairns station"
in 15 reviews
"great trip"
in 42 reviews
"great scenery"
in 33 reviews
"day trip"
in 59 reviews
"take photos"
in 50 reviews
"taking the train"
in 19 reviews
Filter

47 - 51 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Great views, commentary and historic snippets.
The upgrade to gold class isn’t worth the $$.
Engineering enthusiasts will have much to enjoy

Thank HelzBelz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed the scenic views and history of our train.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Took train up and Skyrail Cable Car back. Train was slow and interesting. Kuranda was excellent. Lots of nice cafes and eateries. Lots of interesting people and shops if you want to buy stuff. Koala experience was made awesome by the people who look after the animals; entertaining, educational and good fun. We intended to stay in Kuranda for a couple of hours but stayed the whole day!

Thank richven2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience, we're glad to hear you had a great day out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

I took the Skyrail cable car up to Kuranda and the train back, then used the bus transfer to return to my car at Skyrail. It was a good day - but not great. Quite touristy - particularly the village of Kuranda. The Skyrail required queuing for ticket collection even though I'd prepaid and this was slow.

Skyrail itself good - they put groups into individual cars. I travelled on my own and got my own car, which I appreciated. Two locations were you got off with short walks and views on Skyrail.

Kuranda had some pretty short walks, millions of touristy shops. Butterfly and venom farms - neither of which I went to. Wanted a fancy lunch, but all food was snacky or designed for mass tourism (catering for big groups). So no nice intimate spots to have a leisurely lunch.

Train down was good. Pre-allocated seats which meant even if you were early, you did not necessarily get a window seat. One stop on train trip for view of Barron Falls.

Coach transfer from Freshwater Station on railway back to Smithfield at Skyrail to collect cars. About 6 coaches and no signs - so a bit chaotic in terms of which bus was going where. But got there in the end.

A good day, but very touristy

Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thanks for sharing your Kuranda day experience. This day tour is one of the main tourist trips for the region so we can understand your comment. We can't comment on all, but we're glad you enjoyed the train journey (our service) and hope you got some great photos on the journey and at Barron Falls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Great day out skyrail had two interval stops that you could get out do a lap through the forest board walk and re board the skyrail. Kuranda is a tourist attraction lots of souvenir shops aboriginal art work etc we enjoyed lunch and refreshing cold beer at the Kuranda Hotel before enjoying the train trip back down.
My opinion- A half day is all that is required 10.45am skyrail - 2pm train departure is sufficient time.

Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thanks so much for your review. Happy to hear you had a great time and enjoyed the beautiful little town of Kuranda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuranda Scenic Railway also viewed

 

Been to Kuranda Scenic Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing