We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Kuranda Scenic Railway tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Kuranda Scenic Railway
from US$118.80
More Info
from US$130.40
More Info
from US$118.80
More Info
from US$173.10
More Info
Reviews (1,827)
Filter reviews
1,827 results
Traveller rating
947
598
188
62
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
947
598
188
62
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews freshwater station scenic railway window seat sky rail train trip barron falls cable car great train ride gold class carriage cairns station return trip comfortable seats great trip great scenery day trip take photos taking the train
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 1,827 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Great views, commentary and historic snippets.
The upgrade to gold class isn’t worth the $$.
Engineering enthusiasts will have much to enjoy

Thank HelzBelz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed the scenic views and history of our train.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Took train up and Skyrail Cable Car back. Train was slow and interesting. Kuranda was excellent. Lots of nice cafes and eateries. Lots of interesting people and shops if you want to buy stuff. Koala experience was made awesome by the people who look after the animals; entertaining, educational and good fun. We intended to stay in Kuranda for a couple of hours but stayed the whole day!

Thank richven2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience, we're glad to hear you had a great day out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

I took the Skyrail cable car up to Kuranda and the train back, then used the bus transfer to return to my car at Skyrail. It was a good day - but not great. Quite touristy - particularly the village of Kuranda. The Skyrail required queuing for ticket collection even though I'd prepaid and this was slow.

Skyrail itself good - they put groups into individual cars. I travelled on my own and got my own car, which I appreciated. Two locations were you got off with short walks and views on Skyrail.

Kuranda had some pretty short walks, millions of touristy shops. Butterfly and venom farms - neither of which I went to. Wanted a fancy lunch, but all food was snacky or designed for mass tourism (catering for big groups). So no nice intimate spots to have a leisurely lunch.

Train down was good. Pre-allocated seats which meant even if you were early, you did not necessarily get a window seat. One stop on train trip for view of Barron Falls.

Coach transfer from Freshwater Station on railway back to Smithfield at Skyrail to collect cars. About 6 coaches and no signs - so a bit chaotic in terms of which bus was going where. But got there in the end.

A good day, but very touristy

Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thanks for sharing your Kuranda day experience. This day tour is one of the main tourist trips for the region so we can understand your comment. We can't comment on all, but we're glad you enjoyed the train journey (our service) and hope you got some great photos on the journey and at Barron Falls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Great day out skyrail had two interval stops that you could get out do a lap through the forest board walk and re board the skyrail. Kuranda is a tourist attraction lots of souvenir shops aboriginal art work etc we enjoyed lunch and refreshing cold beer at the Kuranda Hotel before enjoying the train trip back down.
My opinion- A half day is all that is required 10.45am skyrail - 2pm train departure is sufficient time.

Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thanks so much for your review. Happy to hear you had a great time and enjoyed the beautiful little town of Kuranda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

What a wonderful trip. Got the Karunda scenic train from Cairns and did the 'Gold Class' which I would say is worth the extra. Seats very comfortable and relaxing with drinks and nibbles on the outward journey. Scenery was just lovely. 2 hour trip of beautiful scenery and complete relaxation was great. We returned by Skyline which was just breathtaking coming over the rainforest. Views were fabulous. Would highly recommend this trip. Well worth every penny.

1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018


Love your review - thanks for the feedback! We're glad you loved Gold Class - we might be biased but we think the upgrade is worth it for that mango sorbet alone! We hope you took plenty of photos as a reminder of your Kuranda experience.

Wishing you safe onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews