We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Moonlight Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moonlight Bay Apartments
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rye
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Hotel was very comfortable. Staff were super friendly and efficient. Location was great. Parking available.Rooms were very clean and spacious. Saltwater pool was great fun and also very clean. Reasonably priced. I will def be back and I highly recommend staying there!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nadine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

Spur of the moment adventure with my partner lead us to Rye, we booked in with Moonlight Bay Resort without realising it was a motel until we actually drove past the building.

Upon entering the room it's hard to look away from the art work, it's an eyesore to say the least.
The room has all you need for a brief stay. The beds are comfortable (unless you fall between the mattresses pushed together!) and there's a couch situated under the aircon which is perfect!

The pools heating was switched off so we just had to keep walking past it which was a major let down for us.

The manager/owner is absolutely beautiful even when there was a mix up when we went to go pay. Another woman was left to deal with us and had said that our credit card was already charged and gave us the receipt. (The manager came chasing us after we went looking for her as we were confused as to why we were charged on the card when we were wanting to pay cash)

All in all it was a nice location, close to shops and a few steps away from the beach. Would recommend to all those that are on a budget.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank hajduksplit1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrylyncadan, Owner at Moonlight Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Yes, we totally agree that some of the artwork needs replacing, so hope you'll enjoy our decorative refurbishments to take place in the next few months. Our beds are industry 'king split' and glad they were comfortable.
It is policy at Moonlight Bay to take your first night's tariff to secure your booking.
If you choose to stay in the future, and we hope you will, please advise reception staff, via your booking channel, you do not wish this to take place. Our reception staff are always obliging, friendly and receptive to your requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

Last minute night away with friend . Abby at Moonlight was extremely helpful and lovely. Beds were so comfortable, best night sleep. Heated pool was heated. Spent hours in it. Totally recommend moonlight. Hope to return soon again. Close to everything. Thank you Abby.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrylyncadan, Owner at Moonlight Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Thank you for your positive comments. We're all delighted you enjoyed such a comfortable stay at Moonlight Bay and we reiterate your comments about Abbey, our lovely, live-in Manager.
We look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

Just spent couple nights at Moonlight and was impressed with the top quality service I received. First of all location is brilliant as it was few meters from the beach and close to all shops any family needed. Abbey the receptionist was pleasant to deal with and always willing to go far and beyond with a smile. She even recommended places to dine. Honestly I didn't expect room service being an apartment during weekend but hey I got one. Stayed at room 14 and it ticked all the boxes for us and will be back again for sure.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank hossam_hamid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrylyncadan, Owner at Moonlight Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

It is inspirational for all at Moonlight Bay to read such positive comments. Thank you.
We agree that Abbey supports you in your requests and goes out of her way to have your stay with us be great.
Moonlight Bay and Staff look forward to making you welcome in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Loved staying here for two nights with my boyfriend for his birthday. Staff are super helpful and accommodating and even helped me by hiding a surprise cake for me when i neeeded it! Pool was awesome! Nice and warm; perfect for the currsnt weather.

Only downer was that the walk in shower had a terrible shower head and sprayed water all over the bathroom which leaked into the loungeroom a little bit. Other than that we truly loved our stay and we were thrilled with our free upgrade! Will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms look in on to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alisha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrylyncadan, Owner at Moonlight Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

So glad you enjoyed your stay at Moonlight Bay. We agree that Staff will always be supportive, helpful and friendly.
Know what you mean about the shower, which we're pleased to say is being remedied and renewed in that particular room. "Open" shower in this case was not a success!!!!
We look forward to making you welcome in the near future and hope you will enjoy our refurbishments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rye
0.1 km away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
11.7 km away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
544 reviews
20.8 km away
Flinders Hotel
Flinders Hotel
#1 of 2 in Flinders
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 km away
Brooklands Of Mornington
Brooklands Of Mornington
#1 of 2 in Mornington
433 reviews
7.9 km away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
326 reviews
24.5 km away
Jackalope Hotel
Jackalope Hotel
#1 of 1 in Merricks North
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Bay Apartments

Address: 4 Napier St, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Rye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: HK$1,088 - HK$1,995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonlight Bay Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Rye beach and pier, restaurants, shops, hotel & RSL. Spacious and one & two bedroom fully self-contained apartments, most with large spa baths, and modern spa studios surround a sparkling heated outdoor pool & spa (heated Sept. - April). Complimentary barbecue area, off-street parking, laundry facilities and WiFi. Only minutes to Peninsula Hot Springs, Golf courses, wineries and Mornington Peninsula's finest tourist attractions. Friendly hospitality in your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Moonlight Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing