We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
50
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
50
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peak district washing machine walks hosts pubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2022 via mobile

Fabulous little cottages, we rented out all three of them with two other families and had a really enjoyable weekend in the Peak District with kida aged 2-10. Castleton, Mam Yor etc all within relatively easy hiking distance even for the little ones, lots of caves and other kidfriendly destinations.

Cottages are very welcoming with breakfast ingredients, kitchen, washing machine (great after a muddy day out), fireplace, animals. We all had a lovely day and the hosts were very lovely and helpful.

Room tip: Parking available, internet too, washing machine, dryer too
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Pixxidix
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise Matthews, Owner at Riding House Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2022

It was a pleasurer to meet you all, and very pleased you all enjoyed yourselves. We hope to meet you all again in the future.
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2022

Exactly what you'd expect a peak district cottage to be, fantastic.

Great position for the walks, everything you need in the cottage (we were in Milkmaids cottage) quiet, nor far from many pubs for evening food or drinks and parking right outside the door!

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KevinB4678
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise Matthews, Owner at Riding House Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2022

Thank you Kevin for your lovely comments they are much appreciated it was a pleasure meeting you. We hope to welcome you back to Riding House Farm again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2019 via mobile

We only stayed for three nights but felt right at home! The cottage is very homely, cosy and just the right place to relax. Equipped with everything one needs for a break away, beautiful touches to the interior and clean facilities didn't let us miss anything. The cottage is in a beautiful spot of the peak district and invites for walks, hikes, or just pure relaxation surrounded by peace and quiet. The village with plenty pubs, restaurants and shops is just a short walk away and is also very pretty and welcoming. Such a great find. Thanks Denise & David!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank raindrop0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise M, Owner at Riding House Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

Thank you so much for the splendid comments and for staying at Riding House farm Cottages Absolute pleasure meeting you and so pleased the stay was a success for you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2019 via mobile

After being to Riding House Farm many times and staying in Milkmaids Cottage, we tried afew days in the newly completed Grooms Cottage, a fantastic 1 double (the comfiest king size bed ever!), 1 twin cottage, with a lovely spacious kitchen, dining lounge area, well equipped, lovely furnishings in the most glorious setting on a working farm, with the friendly hosts David and Denise at hand, not forgetting Peg and Bella the dogs.
Walks from the door to Mam Tor, or into Castleton itself, perfectly situated would highly recommend

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Linda-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise M, Owner at Riding House Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2019



Thank you. It was great to see you both again,. We are pleased you enjoyed yours stay, and look forward to seeing you both again,
Best wishes
David and Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019

Have just returned from a week in Shepherds Cottage, together with our 2 labs. Lovely spacious cottage, warm welcome from Denise who came to see us as we arrived. The view from the cottage is stunning and beautiful. Welcome gifts of wine, chocolates, orange juice and flowers - so generous. Husband had some long interesting chats with David and our 2 labs loved Bella the Labrador. We struggled to find a cottage, and could not believe this was available. Highly recommend this cottage.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise M, Owner at Riding House Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2019

Thanks so much for staying at Shepherd’s Cottage. Absolute pleasure meeting you and so pleased the stay was a success for you. You left the Cottage looking lovely we look forward to welcoming you back to Riding House Farm again in the future, you are very welcome. .
We much appreciate your lovely comments, thank you
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews