We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
50
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
50
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peak district washing machine walks hosts pubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2022

Exactly what you'd expect a peak district cottage to be, fantastic.

Great position for the walks, everything you need in the cottage (we were in Milkmaids cottage) quiet, nor far from many pubs for evening food or drinks and parking right outside the door!

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KevinB4678
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise Matthews, Owner at Riding House Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2022

Thank you Kevin for your lovely comments they are much appreciated it was a pleasure meeting you. We hope to welcome you back to Riding House Farm again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2019 via mobile

We only stayed for three nights but felt right at home! The cottage is very homely, cosy and just the right place to relax. Equipped with everything one needs for a break away, beautiful touches to the interior and clean facilities didn't let us miss anything. The cottage is in a beautiful spot of the peak district and invites for walks, hikes, or just pure relaxation surrounded by peace and quiet. The village with plenty pubs, restaurants and shops is just a short walk away and is also very pretty and welcoming. Such a great find. Thanks Denise & David!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank raindrop0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise M, Owner at Riding House Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

Thank you so much for the splendid comments and for staying at Riding House farm Cottages Absolute pleasure meeting you and so pleased the stay was a success for you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2019 via mobile

After being to Riding House Farm many times and staying in Milkmaids Cottage, we tried afew days in the newly completed Grooms Cottage, a fantastic 1 double (the comfiest king size bed ever!), 1 twin cottage, with a lovely spacious kitchen, dining lounge area, well equipped, lovely furnishings in the most glorious setting on a working farm, with the friendly hosts David and Denise at hand, not forgetting Peg and Bella the dogs.
Walks from the door to Mam Tor, or into Castleton itself, perfectly situated would highly recommend

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Linda-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise M, Owner at Riding House Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2019



Thank you. It was great to see you both again,. We are pleased you enjoyed yours stay, and look forward to seeing you both again,
Best wishes
David and Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019

Have just returned from a week in Shepherds Cottage, together with our 2 labs. Lovely spacious cottage, warm welcome from Denise who came to see us as we arrived. The view from the cottage is stunning and beautiful. Welcome gifts of wine, chocolates, orange juice and flowers - so generous. Husband had some long interesting chats with David and our 2 labs loved Bella the Labrador. We struggled to find a cottage, and could not believe this was available. Highly recommend this cottage.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise M, Owner at Riding House Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2019

Thanks so much for staying at Shepherd’s Cottage. Absolute pleasure meeting you and so pleased the stay was a success for you. You left the Cottage looking lovely we look forward to welcoming you back to Riding House Farm again in the future, you are very welcome. .
We much appreciate your lovely comments, thank you
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2018

We have just returned from our fourth visit to Riding House Farm, specifically Shepherd's Cottage. As usual we had a wonderful time, we always feel very welcome and comfortable there. It is warm and relaxing, we enjoyed the fresh air, peace and quiet and beautiful views. We feel very at home in the cottage which is always spotless and has everything we need. We hope to return very soon.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AmigaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise M, Owner at Riding House Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Many thanks for your wonderful comments they are much appreciated, we look forward to welcoming you back to Riding House Farm cottages again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews