We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
FindHotel
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveller rating
671
115
30
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
671
115
30
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool garden room lovely hotel lake district stunning views would highly recommend this hotel high standard superior room first class birthday treat evening meal two night stay short break nothing is too much trouble warm welcome biscuits lyzzick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 823 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2021

We stayed for 5 nights in this really nice hotel in beautiful grounds. The room (Room 1) was a superior double overlooking the mountains, and it was immaculately clean and comfortable. The only problem was the lack of WiFi signal… the internet access was very slow and often would not connect at all. A few cheap wifi extenders could fix this problem. The en-suite bathroom was also very clean, with an efficient shower.
The public areas, restaurant and lounge, were clean, well furnished and very comfortable, with beautiful views from the restaurant. The choice of food for both breakfast and dinner was very good, and the quality exceptional. The choice of breakfasts was excellent, and the dinner menus were complemented by daily 'specials'. The staff were both very friendly and very efficient… a special mention for Orsi and Zoltan, who could teach many restaurant staff a lesson in good, friendly customer relations.
Very happy to recommend this hotel, and we hope we can stay there again soon.

Room tip: Superior rooms with views of the mountains are well worth it.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2021 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and the hotel was faultless from start to finish. Fantastic room, amazing food and drinks and the staff were all lovely. We needed to leave the hotel early on the 1st morning to go on a walk up scafell pike and the hotel did us some sandwiches. After proposing to my partner the staff were lovely and gave us some fizz and little desert. Amazing, will definitely be staying again!

Room tip: Good parking and recommend an upgraded room
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nicdaisy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2021

We booked this hotel for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary after reading the excellent reviews. We stayed in a superior room which had stunning views of the surrounding mountains. The room was tastefully decorated with an extra large bed and fabulous bathroom. We booked dinner bed and breakfast. The meals were top quality, well presented with an excellent choice each day. The staff were very welcoming and in particular the waiters and waitresses who were very friendly and hard working. We would like to thank Jane in particular. We would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting first class service and panoramic views with good walking from the doorstep.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2021 via mobile

Perfect start to our trip in the lakes! From the staff to the location could not recommend it more. Absolutely beautiful spot - so tranquil and peaceful with beautiful views to soak up and enjoy. We could have sat on the balcony area with a drink in hand enjoying the views for hours on end. Food was also delicious and we felt really looked after our entire stay.
Also, very close to skiddaw and other nearby walks as well as Keswick, Derwentwater and Bassenthwaite lake.
Not a negative for us as wanting to escape it all, but signal and internet reception was patchy, so if this isn’t important for you just worth noting.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TollyPgoestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2021

This hotel was amazing, the grounds are beautiful with fantastic views of the mountains and it is a peaceful situation. The food was outstanding, very satisfying and colourful with very little waiting. The establishment is well run and immaculate. The only thing I regret is not being able to book a bigger bed. This hotel is clearly so popular we could only get a double room at the top of the property,room 20. Although very pleasant , the bed was rather small and did disrupt our sleep quality. I would however definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely return.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alison Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews