We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
615
29
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
615
29
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red squirrels turret room homemade shortbread lake district northern lakes country house hotel this wonderful hotel nothing is too much trouble afternoon tea michelin star superb food fresh milk relaxing break high standard stephen dogs buzzards
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2021 via mobile

We've just returned from 4 nights at this lovely hotel. We were made to feel valued guests not just faces in a featureless hotel. From the moment we were met at the door by Angela we anticipated something special and we were certainly not disappointed. The decor might not be to everyone's taste but there's an elegance about everything. The food is of an exceptional standard and we were helped with our wine choices too! All the staff are so polite and helpful and nothing is too much trouble, even a change of bedding when we were too hot on the first night.
Do away with modern technology, there's no phone signal, and just relax and think how fortunate you are that quintessential places like this are still to be found and return home richer for the experience.

Room tip: Lots of free parking. Go red squirrel spotting!
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Explorer16795695883
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 5 weeks ago

What a very special review: thank you and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again before too long.
Thank you for staying with us,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021

We chose Overwater Hall as our wedding venue. This was without doubt the best thing we could ever have done. Right from the start, from initially setting a date in April and then having to move the date due to Covid to May, this was done with kindness, consideration and flexibility. We had the most perfect wedding. Nothing could have been done to make it any better than it was and it will live in our memories for ever.

Overwater Hall is set in the most beautiful surroundings in the heart of the northern Lakes. The venue is a small luxury country house hotel. We secured the whole venue for the wedding day and had the wedding party stay for 3 days. Each of the rooms were beautifully unique and perfectly decorated. We specifically loved our Turret room with spectacular views which we would highly recommend. We have already booked it again for our 1st wedding anniversary next year

We were married in the drawing room with its balcony facing the extensive gardens. What a beautiful location!

We dined the night before the wedding in the hotel’s restaurant. The menu, prepared by Adrian was exquisite, we could have been dining in a Michelin star restaurant.

The wedding breakfast was chosen from several potential menus and we were even able to give our guests choices as we were a small party of only 14 people. Adrian, the chef, along with Angela his wife and Stephen were fantastic hosts. The food, again, was fabulous. Artistically presented and creatively prepared. Each plate being a masterpiece in its own right. We are great foodies and this most definitely floated our boat!

There is no doubt in our minds that this fabulous experience was made all the better by the hosts. Angela spent many months communicating with us about our wedding plans while the world was overcome by Covid and our arrangements had to be fluid, even down to finding a hairdresser!

Stephen was our host on our special day, he was attentive with his own dry humour. Nothing was missed. We can honestly say that he pre-empted our every need, including fine wines, port and a fabulous cheese board

If we could give Overwater Hall more than 5 stars we would! This place is truly special not just as a wedding venue it is great as a romantic getaway for couples. We long to be there again……..

Room tip: Turret Rooms are beautiful
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathryng2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 18 August 2021

How can we respond to such a wonderful review? We are delighted that your wedding day was everything you had hoped for...and more! Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough account of your day: I am sure other readers will find it very helpful.
With our very best wishes to you both, and we look forward to seeing you again next year...if not before!
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2021

I have visited Overwater on a number of occasions for dinner, but only just realised they offer afternoon teas. What a treat! The sandwiches were deliciously fresh, beautiful scones and tea bread followed by an amazing selection of cakes. Everyone enjoyed the afternoon in such lovely surroundings. Thank You so much for taking such good care of our party. It was very much appreciated.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ChristineP222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 25 June 2021

You are very welcome, and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your tea, and we look forward to seeing you again before too long.

With our best wishes

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2021

We have stayed at Overwater Hall many times and would definitely recommend a visit to this hotel for those who are searching for fabulous food, fantastic service and a relaxing break.

The hotel is in a secluded location offering peace and tranquillity with some great walks on the doorstep. The grounds are beautiful and we love to watch the red squirrels and birds.

The food is always the highlight of our stay and the menu is different each time we visit showcasing the chefs immense talent. Choosing which courses to order is always a challenge as there are so many delicious options. Each time we wish that we had booked to stay for longer so that we could try more dishes! The presentation and execution is excellent and the service is faultless.

While we have found that some hotels have their ups and downs we have found Overwater to be consistently excellent and we come away planning our next visit.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MFC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 17 June 2021

Thank you for our 5 Star review! It is always lovely to welcome guests back to Overwater, and we hope you have already planned your next visit!
With our best wishes
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021

i decided to write this review as we are returning on May 17th having stayed previously for only one night in October last year prior to lockdown . In 2020 my wife Marjie and I had a 5 day say in the lakes staying three nights in one hotel but in doing so as we always do when sightseeing , walking and visiting areas of the lakes are always on the look out for other places to stay. we came upon Overwater Hall by chance, was given a tour of some of the rooms, following on from this visit we decided to extend our stay in the lakes by a couple of nights and managed to book over water for our last night. what an experience !!!!

this hotel is a an absolute gem the accommodation , the staff and the food are truly memorable so much so we decided to book for my wife birthday (december ) but because of the lockdown we were unable to travel so re arranged for April 2021 for our anniversary again had to rearrange due to covid lockdown however have re scheduled for May17 2021. if anyone is looking for a quiet but stunning hotel to stay at, if you appreciate fine dining at its very best, if you are in search of a truly beautiful hotel with an air of relaxation and calmness this is the place for you. honestly my wife and I both have commented to many of our friends and family without doubt the best food and service we have ever had in an hotel in the UK. oh and look out for the local buzzard who doesn't take kindly to people getting too close.

overwater hall is a hidden gem 5 star all the way

Room tip: room 8 fabulous room with stunning views
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 17 June 2021

Thank you for your lovely review, and for your perseverance during lockdown! We are delighted that you have discovered us, and thank you for spreading the word.
Hope to see you again soon.
With our best wishes
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews