We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and superb service”

Cavendish Arms Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Cavendish Arms Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Cartmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We have gone to great lengths to try and use only local produce and suppliers, thus ensuring our quality is always of a very high standard for our guests to enjoy. At The Cavendish Arms you are always guaranteed a warm welcome.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

The staff were so helpful, friendly and attentive.
We arrived late and hungry but were given a table straight away.
The waitress was extremely helpful and brought bread and olives as our children (and us!) were very hungry.
Our drinks and food arrived quickly. The lamb shank was absolutely delicious as was the burger. The kids menu was very reasonably priced and apparently the sausages were very tasty.
All the staff were delightful and we look forward to returning.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank rosmccleverty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

I have to say I was disappointed with our visit here. My partner had a burger which looked amazing but wasn’t tasty and for the price you expect it to be a good quality. The beetroot terrine was totally delicious, amazing flavours. The side of cauliflower cheese was dreadful it was cauliflower in water, I rarely complain but I did send it back the waiter brought me another which looked and tasted exactly the same in another bowl, no cheese and sauce was tasteless water. The desert coconut panacotta was delicious beautifully presented and great flavours. The wine we wanted had run out but the Merlot we then chose was very good. The waitress was lovely .

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank TJW405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant with very friendly attentive staff.
Excellent menu choice including a great veggie choice. I had the falafel bites which were served on a really tasty lentil salad. Even my meat eating hubby was impressed with the flavours. He had a steak which was cooked to perfection. Excellent wine choices as well. Didn't have room for our but they looked lovely.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank sandrakZ1401AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the area for 3 nights and ate here twice. Both times the staff where attentive and friendly and the food was exceptional. Very enjoyable and would recommend

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank MLOwens08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed last year & again this weekend. Delicious meal, friendly staff & relaxing atmosphere. We will be back!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank E1343MDkellyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cavendish Arms Restaurant also viewed

Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to Cavendish Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing