We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
265
106
29
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
106
29
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubroaring firelamblovely beer gardengreat foodspecials boardevening mealfull englishwarm welcomefeel very welcomewonderful weekendan overnight stayselection of beersfamily roomreal aledog friendly pubburger
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Popped I here for lunch, 2 burgers and a kids nuggets.

Burgers were amazing, homemade with real beef! Kids nuggets, real chicken, battered, not from a freezer.

And its dog friendly, perfect for us.

Lovely little beer garden, and a nice selection of ales.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

A group of four of us have just spent a wonderful three days staying at The Boot. On our second day I booked for another weekend in August and the three other members of our group have promised to return. I agree with all the other positive reviews and would just like to say a huge thank you to probably the hardest working team I have ever met. Stuart, Anita, Sav, Lauren and the young chap who works behind the bar and all those who are not front of house. We received a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them while we were there.
Started the day with a Full English made from the finest ingredients and door stop toast before a full days walking in the most amazing scenery. Returned to sit outside in the beer garden and enjoy the views. It is a pub with rooms but the rooms all have refurbed bathrooms,comfortable beds and daily room service. Great beer and fantastic food at very reasonable prices means you dont have to wander off in search of an alternative for your evening meal.This is great because the location means there are not many alternatives within easy walking distance. Great atmosphere in the pub on all three nights we were there but by 9.00 most people have left which allows a very quiet nights sleep.
This is the perfect venue for walkers or nature lovers or for somebody who simply needs to de stress. No TV in the room, no mobile phone signal ,( There is a red phone box at the front of the pub ) and the free Boot wifi is just about adequate. These may be faults if you stayed somewhere else but as a previous reviewer stated Yaaaaay! as It means I now feel like I have been on a long holiday rather than just three days. See you in August

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LiverpoolLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi there,
Thank you for all your positive comments we will keep on working hard !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

Visited the boot inn to celebrate my brothers wedding.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The pub was great. Food all freshly made and very good.
Fantastic views and lovely lively beer gardens
I recommend this inn and the eskdale valley/area to anyone .

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi there,
The wedding was great fun, we are so glad everyone enjoyed it and the weather we great too !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

We stayed two nights with our cockerpoo and had a very enjoyable time. As keen walkers we were able to tackle some of the the more awkward to reach Wainwright's - I quite fancy coming back for Scarfell (the big daddy) ... We arrived early but were able to leave our overnight bags - We returned at close to eight and had to order food quickly - just beware that the kitchen closes at 8 30 weekdays and 8 on a Sunday - Fair enough when it's quite a remote place with few locals. The food is good pubby standard and we had packed lunches on bank holiday Monday and on the Tuesday. The room was clean and well decorated (black and white tartan carpet - white bed linen) Very well kept beers and decent wines by the glass. - Two nights - bed breakfast - evening meals - drinks and pack up lunches for two and a supplement for Mr Darcy - about £300. A quick word on the staff - lovely, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi there,

Thanks for the comments, really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Boot is a beautiful little hamlet and it was a pleasure to sit in the beer garden with a pint after a long walk, our stay was very comfortable and the food delicious, my only issue was lack of vegan option on the menu. Would definitely recommend and would love to stay again!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for the great feedback. We do try to cater for all diners and it may have been a case that some of our specials board options had sold out. At the moment we have 3 vegan choices plus another 2 vegetarian so it may have been a case of unfortunate timing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews