We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Trip.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
331
46
25
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
331
46
25
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath small hotel lake district bird feeders borrowdale valley set menu walk in shower amuse bouche vegetarian options wine list stayed for nights lovely garden before dinner stunning views comfortable room relaxing stay tea and coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2021 via mobile

We are on our way to Scotland and decided to stop one night in the Lakes, and decided on the Leathes Head Hotel. It was a slight detour and we are very glad we did. Charlie our host met us and apologised from the outset that he was covering on his own and to bear with him: he didn’t need to apologise. Everything worked beautifully from meeting in the bar at 6.30 to order drinks, to having a glass in the lounge where the fire enhanced the atmosphere, to a lovely light dinner. We can see why Michelin endorsed the kitchen. The menu is limited and some people might struggle with that, but from the amuse bouche, to the artichoke, then brill then blueberry dessert, before two chocolate petits four, we loved it. Sourdough bread also worthy of a mention. Astonishingly good wine list via Cortney and Barrow and mark ups reasonable, although limited choice by the glass which is expected in a small hotel. Comfy room and bed: very hot shower. We booked a mountain side view and boy did we get it. My wife last stayed in the Lakes 30 years ago and woke to thick fog and couldn’t see a thing. Not today. Stunning views. Breakfast is also great with plenty of choice. Good tea and coffee in the room. The team have adjusted well to Covid times. In summary, we loved it and highly recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Curious_Traveller636
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2021 via mobile

Our favourite hotel for the last 24 years.

Disappointed with recent stay.

Paid top price for Room 11, this room is not on the website, cheap furniture very dated, tiny shower room and tatty.

Staff were great, very attentive.

Food was delicious but a fixed menu, no extra veg! Would have liked more choice.

Wine list should have a wider selection, top on price. I felt sadly hotel were being greedy.

We have had some great times at this hotel set in beautiful countryside but now feel it’s time to make new memories elsewhere.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Scenic384634
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2021

Stayed here for two nights as a treat, including dinner. Some things on the dinners were not to our taste, but it was good to try them. The breakfasts were very good, especially enjoyed the sausages and black pudding.
The staff were very busy and very friendly.
The room was a little tired in places and one of the pillow cases was dirty.
Overall it was a good experience.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Drewber40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2021 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant. Staff were very attentive and food was amazing. Room was so comfortable and very clean. They obviously take Covid seriously.
Definitely stay again and would recommend to everyone. If you’re looking for a hotel that accommodates your personal preferences stay here!!! Loved it and definitely coming back

Room tip: Parking is good, roads are narrow so drive carefully
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2021 via mobile

What do I say but …. Wow
Excellent accommodation cosy and plush but not pretentious.
Excellent food …brill service and the view wow ,
Will be back next year Covid allowing !!
Well done leathes head
Some strange comments of late on a couple of reviews .
This is a place to chill not a city boutique hotel !!!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews