We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food”
Review of Butley Ash

Butley Ash
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Prestbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Went with friends for midweek dinner , it was very busy indeed when we arrived however we were seated quickly and had the best table service we have anywhere in a long time .
We were served by Ben and Frankie who were both friendly and professional and a very good front of house example for chef and brewer .
The food was very well presented and as tasty as usual but it was the table service that set this visit apart ,thank you for a lovely evening .

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hammans89, Manager at Butley Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your lovely post. I’ll make sure the chefs, Ben and Frankie know about this! Hope you visit again soon.
Many Thanks,
Sharna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2018

My wife and I were over from Australia and staying with relatives who live in Macclesfield, We had been to this venue in previous years but they had changed their menu. Suffice to say we enjoyed the variety, well cooked food and the staff interaction so much that we returned for dinner once a week on each of the 4 weeks we were in the area, which I think speaks volumes about how much we enjoyed it.
On each visit we tried different starters and mains, which were all very enjoyable, but unfortunately my wife and son in law got hooked on the sticky toffee pudding and they both had that on every visit.
Would like to compliment the chefs for the high quality of the meals and the waiting staff who were attentive without being overpowering (Ben should be a standup comedian) and made each of our visits most enjoyable.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hammans89, Manager at Butley Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your lovely comments. I’ll make sure the chefs and Ben know about this! Hope you visit again soon.
Many Thanks,
Sharna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Friendly welcome - good food and drink selection. Gammon steak and veggie fish and chips quickly served, good quality. Staff perfectly attentive and friendly. Good value - 2 mains and 2 drinks <£25. Chef and Brewer chain also accepts TESCO CLUBCARD VOUCHERS.....

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Oinker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hammans89, Manager at Butley Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a really nice review. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope that makes many more in the future!
Thanks,
Sharna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Excellent menu, both a la carte and 2 or 3 course inclusive ones, with certain nights having a themed special offer. Nice ambience and in nice setting with efficient friendly staff.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hammans89, Manager at Butley Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Hello,
Your review is lovely. Thank you very much. We hope to see you in the near future!
Thanks,
Sharna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

We recently enjoyed an excellent meal at the Butley Ash. The table we had booked earlier was ready and waiting on our arrival. We ordered Gammon and Chicken meals which were both cooked and presented extremely well, followed by gooseberry and ginger crumble, which was also very nice. We found the staff to be friendly and attentive.
This was our second visit recently and on both occasions the service and the food was faultless.
We look forward to visiting again soon.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank philyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hammans89, Manager at Butley Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Hello,
Thank you lots for your lovely review! The gooseberry and ginger crumble is one of my favourites too, along with the apple, cinnamon and sultana one. Hope you’ll join us again soon.
Thanks,
Sharna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butley Ash also viewed

Prestbury, Macclesfield
 
Prestbury, Macclesfield
Prestbury, Macclesfield
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Prestbury, Macclesfield
 

Been to Butley Ash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing