We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,704)
Filter reviews
5,704 results
Traveller rating
3,405
1,426
499
212
162
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,405
1,426
499
212
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsribsthe white sandsadult poolthe salt water poola la carte restaurantsfishel doradosports barmayan suitemain pooltravel clubpunta emiliajunior suitewhite partysegway tourriviera lobbymare nostrum
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 5,704 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Returned to the Palladium for the fifth time at Easter, but the first time with our little girl Roisin. She had her fifth birthday during our stay and what a birthday it was, all the staff couldn’t do enough for us, it really made her birthday. The restaurant staff sang happy birthday, and guest services left a lovely present for Roisin in the room. Her birthday was topped by the kids Club And Rags & friends with a beach party and another present. The kids club staff are amazing, full of energy and cheerful. This is truly an amazing place made perfect by the lovely people who work there. Already saving to go back.

Room Tip: Higher the better, surrounded by trees.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank banksydb34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear banksydb34,

Thank you so much for sharing the lovely holiday time that you and your family experience in our Grand Palladium Colonial.

It is so wonderful having your trust and it was a real pleasure for our team, making this trip extra especial for your little girl!

We will share your kind words with our Kids Club Team and with all the staff that was involved and make these fantastic surprises possible, we appreciate your amazing feedback.

We can’t wait to welcome you on your 6th visit, rest assured that we will always strive to make each holiday a wonderful experience for you and your beautiful family!

Kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a fantastic holidays at Grand Palladium Punta cana and Bavaro I had been dying to try the one in Riviera Maya, for 3rd visit to Mexico. After a traumatic start to the holiday ( diverted to Merida due to adverse weather and stranded there for hours) we finally took a 6 hour bus journey to the hotel, missed our first afternoon and night checking in at 4am. We checked in and went to our lovely clean room, thank you for my boyfriend's birthday card and t-shirt! and went straight out and had a walk to the beach , in the dark I might add lol. We called at the beach bar and had a drink , saw the sun rise. We had breakfast most mornings at Hacienda buffet, food and service excellent. No complaints at all about cold food as seen in other reviews, it is an air conditioned room , so get your hot food after wandering around looking what to eat. We had most lunch at Whitesands buffet, lovely and bright, smaller than Hacienda, wonderful service. Pools were all amazing, we spent time at them all, best cocktails were at the secret pool, service was great too. Pool at Whitesands was massive but quieter than the massive one at Colonial, there was also a lovely adult pool just over a bridge, amazing views of the river that goes around Whitsands, so relaxing. Restaurants we tried were Brazilian, Italian, Thai ,Mexican , steakhouse , all meals fantastic so was the service at all, I loved the Thai red curry and the tomato soup in Italian, yum!
There were bands and entertainment most of the time, a band/singer at the main pool at lunch time, and from 6pm in colonial lobby 2 different singers/bands plus the evening show, my favourite was the rock show ( I hate rock music) but this was absolutely fantastic!!! Well done!! I will say the signage for the sports bar , Churchills and Hemmingway are really small so if you didn't know they were there you could quite easily miss them, maybe bigger signage on the Churchill and Hemmingway,?? As these never seemed to have anyone in, which was a shame. The grounds of the hotel are immaculate, the beach on the other hand although there had been a storm at the start of our week,which would not have helped , was full of seaweed, it seemed to take most of the day to clear it up, especially near Whitesands part it was piled up and smelly, which meant the Punta emilia bar was empty . Shame!! We walked along the beach every morning to the left up to the el Dorado Tui sensimar, their beach was clear of seaweed , but they had some rocks in the sea acting as a barrier, and staff in the water with nets gathering it up. We went into Playa del Carmen one evening, 40 peso each by colectivo, which was waiting outside colonial entrance, very easy. Got a taxi back 400 pesos, Playa del Carmen was brilliant, very busy, beer very reasonable price. We ran out of tip money on our last day and i felt awful, and were also judged by certain people at the bar for not tipping, we had spent over £200 on tips and feel that people who have no idea how much you have tipped or not tipped should mind their own business, not made to feel guilty by individuals throwing money around to impress others! Rant over lol :)
All in all this was a fabulous holiday, wish we had longer than the 6 days we ended up with, would recommend 1000% if we are lucky enough to be in Mexico again wouldn't hesitate to stay again, would love to visit the one in Jamaica, and we also only a 2 hour flight from Ibiza so may give that a try in the future, thank you grand Palladium for a holiday to remember ... We will be back

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank sheskisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear sheskisgirl,

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely review about your recent stay in our Grand Palladium Colonial.

We are very happy to know that as soon as you got to our beautiful Hotel, after an unfortunate arrival day, you were able to relax and enjoy our gorgeous sunrise by the beach,!

You are very kind for sharing the many highlights of your amazing trip with our readers, from the fun moments you enjoyed in our shows and with our live music band to the delicious meals you enjoyed in our restaurants and buffets, that were accompanied with a great service from our staff.

Be assured that your suggestions regarding the signs of the Bars will be transmitted to our Management team and regarding your impression about the beach, the seaweed is a natural phenomenon that affects the coasts of the Riviera Maya, luckily is seasonal we will continue with the daily cleaning of our beach to maintain it beautiful for our guests to enjoy.

It is fantastic to have your trust for our Palladium chain and we look forward to welcome you in any of our resorts!

With our best regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Where to begin?
The moment you arrive, you’re in a dream location... High Thatched roofs, rafters and structures designed to look like Local Buildings, and highly polished and glamours flooring!! Then the forever smiling staff, meeting and greeting, the immensely helpful reception staff... all while listening to a large water feature burble away behind you. I had died and reached heaven... a local cocktail was then given to us, as we checked in.
Our room, was along a small covered path, and in one of the small villa blocks all around the site. It was large, it was adequate, filled with all the creature comforts you could wish for, plus a fridge stocked with water, soft drinks, and beers, all complimentary... stocked daily. The bed was insane, just to add...
The pools, were beyond imagination... they were also everywhere, but you had a choice of the large pool, where you had you sports, your kids, the activities, the AquaAerobics, then you had a small hidden Adults only pool... but regardless of where you sat, every half an hour, someone came and took a drinks order from you. You never went dry.
The restaurants were beyond adequate. The A La Cartes all spoke for themselves, they were beyond 5* Standard, and the Buffet Restaurants were also very well stocked, varying delicacies, but did get a little repetitive. But the staff within were immensely helpful.
The Evening entertainment forever changed, and was as fruitful and as varied as you could wish for. Everything from full tribute bands, to solo singers.
I was also aware of a kids club, and as much as my wife refers to me as a child, it was not something I took advantage of, from what I saw they actually produced shows which starred kids from the Kids Club... helpful?

Our overall experience has left us wishing to go back once we have done some more travelling.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear James,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful description of your first visit to our Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial.

It is amazing reading about your experience and discovering the way you can transport other readers with your words, to the lobby when you arrived and the fascinating way you enjoyed the rest of our facilities.

We are also proud to inform you that our chefs will be preparing new menus for the buffet soon, therefore, the food can have much more variety every day, but continue with our delicious Mexican flavors.

We would love to welcome you again, please do let us know when you decide to return, so we can pamper you the way you deserve.

With kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Back again to our Home from Home, 4th visit.
Another great holiday from start to finish.
Special thanks to Pedro and the front desk team for a superb up-date to a suit in White Sands Thank You so Much.
Wifi up dated and now available all over the complex.
Secrets pool as good as ever.
White Sands buffet Deliah superb now that it has been refurbished.
Bars great especially Colonial lobby bar with Santiago and Ricardo.
Entertainment in bar great.
Lot more carts now for transporting you around complex.
A La Carte Restaurants:-
Thai,Tapas and show table very very good.
Mexican good.
Italian sorry not good, two meals, second meal food cold, left without eating.
Just need to get the A La Cartes back up to the level of our previous visits.
Would we go back again OF COURSE, will be back again in August 2019

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoachColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear CoachColin,

Thank you so much for trusting us your holidays for the 4th time!

It was really a pleasure welcoming you and we will be sure to tell Pedro that you loved the special detail he had with your room for being such a loyal costumer!

Also, Santiago and Ricardo, will receive your positive comments, which will encourage them to continue giving their best every day!

We are delighted knowing that you loved the renovation of the buffet “La Dalia” and were pleased with your overall holiday experience; however, please accept our sincere apologies if the dining experience in the Italian restaurant was not as expected, we regret this happen and your feedback will be used to improve the level of cuisine in this restaurant.

We can’t wait for August 2019! We will be waiting for you with open arms, in your home away home.

Kindest regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Good: The grounds of the resort were beautiful and well maintained, the resort staff for the most part were friendly and some staff went out of there way to please you such as Miguel our Bell Hop/Driver, Ali and Fernanda at the Royal Beach Bar. The buffet wait staff at the Buffet at the White Sands were terrific same with the omelette guy. Most of the bar staff were very good throughout the resort and could make any drink you ordered. Most of the a la cart restaurants were good with special mention to El Gaucho at the YRS (Excellent service, food and atmosphere) will definitely book this restaurant again. The eldorado steak house was very good both service and food and the Japanese restaurant show was nice and food just so so. Check in was good, we checked in as Members all went well, room was clean and beautiful, balcony uncluttered and clean with a nice view. Our Concierge (Paul) was very informative and gave us all the courtesy a Member deserves.

The Bad: Our room had a hot tub on the balcony (Ambassador suite) and it took maintenance 2 days to finally get to our suite to fill the tub and try to show us how it worked. Big language barrier between maintenance and us, they could hardly speak English and they themselves didn't know how to operate the controls of the hot tub. Finally we just guessed how it works and the temperature never got above 32 c in the tub. Our room had a mini fridge that hardly worked and after multiple attempts to contact Member services someone came to our room to look at the fridge after our 4th day there, fridge would not stay cold and even after maintenance looked at it, it still didn't get that cold. With our Ambassador suite we were entitled to certain drinks and snack in our room to be refilled each day like beer, sodas, water, peanuts, ritz crackers and Snickers bars. The first day everything was there but from the second day until the last day we didn't get any more snacks. After complaining to Members club over 15 times we finally on our 6th day got about 5 packs of peanuts and one more snickers bar and when I told them we were suppose to get 2 peanut packs, 2 Snickers and 2 packs of Ritz per day they just made excuses why they didn't bring them so we finally gave up on the snack thing. Our room did not have the welcome gifts and cheese platter and Champagne in it when we arrived, we only got those after we complained to our Concierge (Paul) We brought guests with us under our membership and they too did not receive their welcome gifts and Champagne and cheese platter as well until we complained.

The Ugly: The Italian restaurant was terrible, my Son and I ordered steak medium rare and I also ordered the free lobster (Members only) and the others in our group ordered various other dishes. The steaks arrived and they were well done and tasteless my Lobster was raw and tasted really bad and when I complained the manager took the lobster and re fired it and then brought it back to the table all dried out and now over cooked. Deserts were pretty bad too. Ordered room service on our last night there and it took forever getting to us and was cold when it arrived, one of the burgers were raw, the bread was stale and my jalapeno poppers, 2 were rotten. Come on people, folks can die from eating this crap.

We stayed at the resort from April 11-18, 2018.

The end.

Room Tip: Better view from 3rd floor suites
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Zaxoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Zaxoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts and concerns about your recent stay in our Grand Palladium Colonial.

We are always very happy to receive our Travel Club members and we appreciate that you brought some friends with you in this occasion, to enjoy the beauty of our Caribbean paradise.

We greatly depend on our valuable guest’s feedback, and welcome every opportunity to improve, the purpose we have in mind every day is exceeding your expectations with a remarkable vacation and we feel sad that, we did not achieve our goal, mainly because of the different situations experienced in your room, the food in our Italian restaurant and the food delivered by room service.

We can assure you that your observations will be accordingly addressed with the interest of improving, but above all, to avoid them from recurring in the future, because we understand that some simply should not have happened and for this, we offer a sincere apology to you and your friends.

On a positive note, thank you for the recognition of pur beautiful grounds the attentive staff that served during your stay and the many delicious meals that you enjoyed in our restaurants.

It is fantastic that as a VIP Travel Club member, you had the opportunity to also enjoy the facilities and restaurants in our TRS Yucatán Hotel for adults only, and we are thrilled knowing that that you loved it.

We really appreciate your trust and we certainly look forward to your next stay with us, we will ensure that your highest expectations are fulfilled!

Kindest regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews