We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Good museum for a small town

It's funny to read reviews that say "Boring" under a museum, as so many people today expect to be... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
monkebusiness
,
Dickinson, North Dakota
Small, but the tour was great.

We have visited this museum a few times, the museum itself could be considered not particularly... read more

Reviewed 15 October 2018
wholedamnfam
,
Dickinson, North Dakota
via mobile
Read all 44 reviews
  
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
19
17
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
17
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dinosaur bones small town staff was friendly augmented reality local history exhibits sand kids section minerals pioneer stuff door curator
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

Nice staff and clean establishment. Did not take us long to walk through- small amount of exhibits..

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Kayla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

This museum is one that is designed for people to walk around and look and touch and enjoy! The staff was friendly and willing to answer questions. The fossils were from all over the world and arranged in a logical fashion. Children would love the dinosaur exhibits and we older adults enjoyed playing in the sand! We are from the east coast but did enjoy the room with local history. This area helps us to better understand what we see today,

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank 606gaylef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

I had my 7 and 10 year old kiddos with me while in Dickinson for a couple days. This museum is small but we did everything in the museum complex area and it took a couple hours. My kids really enjoyed the models in the center of the museum and the sand topography interactive display at the back where you can also view the preparation of fossils. The enjoyed the outdoor walking tour of the historic buildings as well.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank manderineorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Our toddler is a huge dinosaur fan right now so we figured what better place than the Dakotas where some have been found. Our older girls also enjoyed the visit. It was $20 to get in and I think we spent about 45 minutes walking through the exhibits. Our older daughter loved the fluorescent geodes in the dark room with the black light.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank 901MichelleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

The artifacts on display were of good quality and very interesting. Yes, the museum is small, but so is the town of Dickinson. The docents are outstanding and I learned a great deal.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews