We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and not so great”

Reillys Cellar Door and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Mintaro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the picturesque, heritage township of Mintaro, Reillys Wines Cellar Door and Restaurant is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a glass of our premium wine with lunch. Taste your way through our selection of wines, wander through our vineyard walk, soak up the sunshine on the verandah or find a cosy spot beside the wood fire if the weather is a bit cooler. Open 7 days, you can select from our gourmet lunch menu which uses the freshest local produce and features wine matches for each dish. The specials change daily so there is always something new to try.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our tour group of 15 was booked for a tasting and lunch so it was quite disappointing that the service was not friendly for the tasting and few of us stayed to do that and even less to buy any wines. This was the last day of our tour so we were in the mood to buy up for our trip home. On the other hand the lunch platter was really good and the lovely young waiter almost made up for the grumpy wine pourer. They did seem to be understaffed but they knew we were coming. The dining room had a good atmosphere and I loved the glass of Shiraz I had with my lunch.

Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReillysWines, Public Relations Manager at Reillys Cellar Door and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for sharing your review of our Cellar Door and Restaurant, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our wine and food, in particular our Shiraz.

Not good to hear that our service wasn't quite as positive, thanks for letting us know the areas that we need to work on! We'll find out what went wrong so that next time you join us we will be offering a more rounded experience.

Kind regards
The team from Reillys Wines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our group of 8 had a fabulous stay at the heritage cottages at Reilly's, such an amazing authentic Australian experience. The incredibly generous breakfast supplies saw us through a leisurely meal each morning before our cycle day and then wine tour. My 4th visit to this region will definitely be back. Be sure to see Martindale Hall, Sevenhills winery, Skillagolee for lunch and O'Leary Walker.

Thank salmontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReillysWines, Public Relations Manager at Reillys Cellar Door and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing this fabulous review, we are delighted to hear that enjoyed your fourth visit to our beautiful region!

It sounds like you and your group discovered some of the great food, wine and cycling experiences on offer in the Clare Valley, we look forward to hosting you again so that you can discover even more next time.

Best regards
The team at Reillys Wines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We had lunch here last Sunday for Fathers Day and it was well worth the drive.

We had visited before and purchased wine but this was our first visit for a meal. And it's a very good thing that we booked as it was very busy.

Having said that, the service from the moment we arrived until the friendly good by, was all that we could have wanted. And between the 4 of us, all of our meals were first class too.

Reilly's wines, reds in particular, are very good and one of our regular Glenelg venues have them on the wine list, so we get to enjoy them on a regular basis. Even if you are not having a meal, the cellar door is well worth the trip out to the beautiful and historic town of Mintaro.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pakabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReillysWines, Owner at Reillys Cellar Door and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Reillys. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your meals and visit to the Cellar Door, and that you also enjoy our wines in Adelaide. We look forward to you coming to see us again.
The Team at Reillys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

we decided to finish our trip with a wine tasting and lunch, both were excellent and topped off our Clare Valley visit nicely
excellent staff in all areas, we had a lovely time

Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReillysWines, Owner at Reillys Cellar Door and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It is lovely to hear that we finished off your trip so nicely. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit the Clare Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

What a surprise find this was! We arrived without a lunch reservation but Emma was very helpful in accommodating us :) The food was all delicious, prepared with quality ingredients & not expensive. We tasted some unique wines & couldn't leave without a purchase! I would highly recommend a visit if you are in the Clare valley.

Thank 432rosemaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReillysWines, Owner at Reillys Cellar Door and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for sharing your lovely compliments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch and wine tasting, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

The team at Reillys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reillys Cellar Door and Restaurant also viewed

 
Clare, South Australia
Sevenhill, South Australia
 

Been to Reillys Cellar Door and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing