We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Green Cape Lighthouse
from US$2,167.64
More Info
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
104
59
10
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
104
59
10
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dirt road golf club ben boyd national park car park spectacular views great spot rugged coastline well worth the effort beautiful location spot whales well worth the trip easy walk disaster caretaker lookout bay seals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2021

We took the hike from the nearby Bittangabee camp ground to Green Cape Lighthouse which is a much shorter option than the Boyd tower to Lighthouse track.
At around 7.5km the Bittangabee trail winds through forests and across small streams for the first 4km, and then breaks out into coastal bushland. The trail is fairly flat and in good condition but is just one way so unless you want to do a 15km round hike, plan to have a vehicle at the lighthouse.

The lighthouse and keepers cottages are only open for pre-booked appointments but its still worth wandering around the bordering picket fence to observe the buildings and lighthouse.
There are great views up and down the coast, and out into Bass Strait

Date of experience: June 2021
1  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021 via mobile

This was our first stop on a day trip from Eden, visiting the main local highlights by car.
An easy, albeit slow, drive to the lighthouse was met with a good-sized car park and well preserved site. We took time to walk around the lighthouse, out onto Green Cape and then out and around Ly-we-moon Cemetery.
This is a place to take some pretty stunning photographs - the lighthouse is quite immense, the coastline is rugged and spectacular... lots of coastal plants & wildlife too!
Don’t forget to stop at City Rock and Disaster Bay Lookout - but be prepared for some real 4WD conditions to access these two locations!

Date of experience: February 2021
3  Thank 4_Aussies_inOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2021 via mobile

As mentioned in other reviews there is 20ks of dirt road into the lighthouse. It’s a pretty good road though. Some corrugations and pot holes but I’ve driven much worse.

Well worth the effort though. Spectacular views and photo ops. Great to see the lighthouse itself and staff quarters in such good condition. There is a toilet there in need. Easy walk of a couple of hundred metres from the car park.

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank SydneyJim56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2021 via mobile

Easy walk from car park to lighthouse within the beautiful Ben Boyd National Park. Lots of other places to visit for a swim or a walk. Designated campsites would be worth staying at.

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2021

Its a long graveled windy road. We did the drive under stormy conditions, and it was slippery in spots with less gravel and more soil, forming fine mud. The road was pretty even all the way and none too tough for a Sedan to handle.
The afternoon was wet and dark and the journey to the lighthouse seemed to take for ever.
Eventually when we reached, we couldn't stay long due to the weather, but it was amazing at the far end near the cliffs. The wind was strong enough to carry us off our feet, and looking out to the Pacific, it makes one wonder what it would have been like for a caretaker at a remote outpost as such.
There's a toilet near the car park, check it out!

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank ranjukj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews