We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
228
125
40
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
228
125
40
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering crazy golf steam room sand dunes mini golf snails table tennis croyde bay line dancing putting green the cottages tennis courts buffet style swimming pool family room football pitch hotel room
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a fantastic 11 day holiday at the Croyde Bay Holiday Resort. We stayed in one of the self catering cottages with our two children aged 6 & 9 who had an amazing time. The cottages were spacious, very clean (as is the whole site) and in a very convenient location for the beach. It was literally a five minute walk to the beautiful Croyde Bay where we all had fun body boarding pretty much every day.

The resort had a lovely pool and spa which we used every day and a great evening entertainment programme which the kids particularly loved. All the entertainment staff were fantastic - particularly Robbie who had genuine warmth and enthusiasm and got everyone participating. The cabaret was a good laugh most nights including some good singers, an Elvis impersonator who we all enjoyed and a magic act which the kids loved. You have to not take yourself too seriously and relax and enjoy the cabaret for what it is - good, old fashioned entertainment that caters for everyone. The bar staff and pool staff were also great - really friendly and accommodating at all times.

There is an on site playground, crazy golf and games room which kept the kids happy when we weren't on the beach or at the pool. For us, it was a good balance of amusement without it being too 'in your face' all the time - you could opt in and out as you wished. We only ate at the hotel twice which was fine but there is such a good choice of lovely pubs and restaurants in the village that we tended to eat out and then come back for a drink and the entertainment. It is true that it has an old fashioned feel to it but to us this was a bonus and a really welcome escape from the madness of modern life. We laughed a lot and have come back with some fantastic memories from a beautiful location and a brilliantly run resort - we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Roving728496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Our long weekend in May was the 2nd time we stayed in this hotel.

There was a slight issue on arrival as our allocated room was already occupied by an other family. We were quickly given a new room and half our holiday cost was refunded without us actually having to ask for any compensation. The staff dealt with this very professionally and very quickly and we were able to start enjoying our weekend with only a short delay.

We stayed in a large family room on the ground floor. The rooms are a very good size for 2 adults and a 3 year old. And even with the extra bed there's space on the floor to play with toys.

The rooms are nice and tidy with good lighting and flat screen television. There's a kettle to make teas and a hair dryer is provided as well. The provided fridge is a little on the noisy side and we ended up turning it off.
Plenty of storage is provided for clothing but there could be more hangars for coats and wet wet/swim suits.
Wifi is patchy as is mobile reception due to the location. This has improved since our first stay and is probably getting better all the time.

Our little son (3 years) really likes the playground and absolutely loves the swimming pool area. It's hard to get him out of the water and the temperature in the pool is just right for active little toddlers.

The full English breakfast is ok. Unfortunately only filter coffee is provided and speciality coffees like latte, cappuccino, etc have to be purchased separately from the bar. The quality of these coffees depends significantly on the staff member and ranges from nearly undrinkable to good depending who makes them. The hot chocolate is always a favourite after a cold evening walk.

The two bars have a good selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and prices are reasonable.

All the staff throughout the resort are very polite, helpful and friendly which makes a stay that little much better every time.

Definitely a place to return to.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Clemens O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

There is so many things to do at Croyde Bay! From a inside pool and jacuzzi, to mini golf, this hotel and resort has a lot to offer for you and your family!

There are different parts to the resort:
The Main Hotel
The Summer Chalets
Waggy Tails Cottages (Doggy Friendly)
And many more

It is very quiet and peaceful here, and the food in the restaurant is really nice!

5 minute walk from Croyde Beach, so it is easy to go to the beach and come straight home again.

Lovely resort, would highly recommend it! Would love to come again!

Date of stay: August 2017
1  Thank LoveTravel727549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

This was our 4 visit staying in the hotel - the location and accommodation are fantastic but this year no Buffet evening meal and definitely no deals. There was a carvery every evening £12 (£6 for kids) and otherwise a very uninspiring menu with typical - burgers and chips, chicken nuggets and chips , pizza, or spag bol for the kids. My grandson learned to love veggies at Croyde and was very disappointed not to find any on the kids menu - oh yes - beans or peas at £1 extra! He missed the lovely soups and especially the cauliflower cheese. You'd need to have very deep pockets to feed a family of 4 healthily all week there - so we went out. The atmosphere has gone from the dining room - not many diners and very few staff a large proportion of whom did not seem to speak English. I wonder how many guests will come back prepared to pay the top whack room rate without even breakfast included. Thank goodness for the kitchen corner in our room where we could do our own breakfasts, lunches and some evening meal. The kids still loved Benny Bear and the swimming pool but we were surprised to find that the pool was not for the exclusive use of guests and consequently got over crowded at times with big kids bombing and the pool attendant doing nothing to stop them even though there were small kids and Mums with babies in the water.

Very sad to say that we will probably not come back - it's nowhere near as good as it was.

Room tip: Ground floor rooms are best for patio but can be noisy especially if kids in the room above.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Friendly people providing top notch service. Rooms clean, comfortable and adequate. I like walking on the beach, there's nowhere better. Bar is well stocked (Malt Whisky available) and prices are reasonable Maybe I go at the wrong time, but the lounge entertainment could be better.

Room tip: Any room will do.They're all good for the purpose.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews