We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not cater to Black people!”
Review of Poole's Diner

Poole's Diner
Ranked #20 of 1,488 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours
Neighbourhood: Depot Historic District
Reviewed 15 July 2022

My colleagues were in Raleigh North Carolina for business. We made reservations at Poole for 7 people, showed up and were told they couldn’t accommodate us do to being overbooked. Two days later, we made reservations again. Was told we were all set, until we showed up in person. Again, we were denied service and told that our reservations were only for 2 people. The “manager” was dismissive, saying she didn’t have time for “this.” It was quite clear, with no seated people of color, that Black and Brown people are not welcome at Pooles Diner. Which is fine!

Date of visit: July 2022
5  Thank tshawnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2022 via mobile

Delicious! Excellent service. Bright aesthetic, tasty meal and great cocktails. The eggplant parmigiana wasn’t too heavy. Focaccia pillowy soft.

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank D2754JJelizabethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 April 2022

The good:
The service was great (except for being mildly slow int he beginning). Our waitress was patient and helpful in explaining the dishes.

The mac and cheese was above average (not the best I've ever had.) but had a nice crust and a nice unique flavor.

The baguette had an amazing crust to it and was cooked to just the right level.

The onion and gruyere tart was an interesting dish. Wasnt amazing but wasn't bad.

One of the deserts we had was strawberry hand pies with lemon ice cream. The crust was light and fluffy with a tasty strawberry filling. The lemon ice cream was also really nice and I'm not usually a fan of lemon flavored things.

The cons:
The entrees were Bad. We got The beef shank which came out pretty dry and flavorless though the onions on top were tasty. We also got the cider pork cheeks on a bed of peas. The pork cheeks were cooked to a good level of tenderness but were pretty utterly devoid of flavor as well and the peas were super bland as well. At $30-40 a pop this should not be your experience.

One of the deserts we had was the a chocolate hazelnut pudding type of dish with soft creme on top and it was just truly awful. The whole dish was bitter and earthy. Truly disappointing.

We won't be back and I think there are many better places to spend your money in the Raleigh area.

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CLOTarheel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 March 2022

Conveniently located to the concert we were going to! The macaroni seemed to be a pre highlight and it was awesome!

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andyb10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 November 2021

Wonderful food and service. Very creative adaptation of an old fountain soda shop. Recommended very highly.

Date of visit: November 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Extraordinary289097
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Poole's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Poole's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.