We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining”
Review of Poole's Diner

Poole's Diner
Ranked #20 of 1,488 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Neighbourhood: Depot Historic District
Reviewed 11 November 2021

Wonderful food and service. Very creative adaptation of an old fountain soda shop. Recommended very highly.

Date of visit: November 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Extraordinary289097
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2021

Poole's seems to always be full. We had late reservations, so many of the guests were finishing their meals and headed home. It felt like the kitchen staff had gone home, too! However, when the food arrived it was the same high quality we've experienced in the past. I always order the pimento cheese and fried saltines - a huge serving, enough for 4 people. The unpretentious menu has down East (North Carolina) items, done in unique ways, such a chicken, pork chops, fish.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 July 2021 via mobile

Disappointing when you are a local. Make a reservation a week in advance for 730pm. And get treated so poorly that the staff and managers can’t even give an honest and humble apology. Industry folks don’t need to give other service industry the same song and dance. We get paid to read body language and make the experience better. The ‘acceptable range of wait time’ during the week and during a socially distanced staggered seating time does not take one hour for one entree and two separate vegetarian sides. And saying the same thing over and over again to the customer during the conversation still doesn’t make it better. I paid for the drinks like a respected customer should and left with no food at 9pm. Dominoes was the only thing open downtown and they at least smiled and said thank you.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank mike9mc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 June 2021 via mobile

The mac and cheese was amazing! Seriously the best I’ve ever had! We shared this and the pimento cheese spread with fried crackers which was good as well. I can’t wait to go back and have dinner there!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank emilyhop09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 November 2020 via mobile

We ordered 4 meals for pick-up to celebrate a birthday and everything was great. The pork loin and the greens were cooked perfectly and portions were generous. We can recommend and we will get food from their again.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank janetw252
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Poole's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Poole's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.