We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Taverna Agora

Taverna Agora
Ranked #13 of 1,488 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: US$15 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Glenwood South
Description: Taverna Agora is an authentic Greek kitchen & bar where friends & family enjoy good wine, eat wonderfully prepared, simple food and relax. The restaurant is reminiscent of gathering places found in Greece, with old world flavors and rustic roots. However, Taverna Agora expands beyond the traditional agora with a few modern flares, including hand-crafted cocktails, a gourmet marketplace and Sunday brunch.
Reviewed 25 June 2022 via mobile

Our first visit since being under new management.
We were not dissapointed, food, cleanliness, drinks and excellent service.
They only do meze but it's the best I have ever had. The food was so flavour some and plentyful.

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank Vellatutchai14zx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WeCare-BrandManager, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2022

We are so glad you had an excellent experience! Thanks for taking the time to leave such a great rating! We hope we can serve you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2022

Six of us got a table on the deck on a very warm night. The deck was lively and busy but really an oasis. We shared the appetizer platter which was very good and the Saganaki which was delicious. The cocktails were yummy. Mixed dinner reviews - the chicken souvlaki skewers were delicious and generously portioned. The Greek salad was yummy, but the lamb chops (2 separate orders) weren't cooked that well - some parts overdone, other parts bloody. The baklava was delicious. This place is no secret - a steady stream of customers on a Saturday.

Date of visit: June 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura02116
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WeCare-BrandManager, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2022

Thanks for the 4 stars! We appreciate your taking the time to leave a good rating for us! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! We look forward to serving you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2022 via mobile

Some of the family got together at AT for dinner. The service was friendly and attentive. Everyone raves about their food. Definitely affordable. Definitely eat there if you are in Raleigh.

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank HubbellGardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WeCare-BrandManager, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2022

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! Thanks for the 5 stars! We appreciate your taking the time to leave a great rating for us! We look forward to serving you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2022

We enjoyed the ambiance and the service we had was impeccable. But we ordered 2 mezzes: 1 grilled octopus and 1 spinach salad: octopus was very very good but you get only 1 tentacle of octopus:( and in the spinach salad you get a lot of spinach! but I could not find the seeds or the cheese or the fennel shavings or the orange segments because there were so few of these :(
I guess we will skip mezzes next time but we will return for main dishes and particularly the lamb shank which is delicious.

Date of visit: May 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patsab_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WeCare-BrandManager, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2022

Thank you for taking the time to rate our restaurant. Thank you for mentioning the positive as well as the areas in which we can improve. We appreciate both types of feedback! Thank you for joining us. We hope we will be able to serve you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2022

Recently met a friend for dinner here as I was in town staying right next door at the Holiday Inn Downtown. The restaurant has a great vibe and ambiance, classy but relaxed. The host & hostess were incredibly gracious and helpful. Got great service at the bar. When our table was ready, we were escorted up to the amazing rooftop deck. It was a beautiful, warm night and it was great looking out over the city. Service and food were excellent. We started with spanakopita and tzatziki with pita bread and fresh cucumber slices. Both were terrific. For our entree, we had the penne pasta with chicken. We were served ample portions of this delicious dish that we had to make ourselves stop eating.

Definitely will be returning next time we are in town!

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank famof5mayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WeCare-BrandManager, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2022

So happy you had a fantastic meal with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction with others! We appreciate it! We hope to serve you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Agora also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Agora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.