We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere, petty good food, near comedy”
Review of Irregardless Cafe

Irregardless Cafe
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 06/10
20:00
Ranked #14 of 1,486 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: US$10 - US$36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Raleigh's CAT bus stops at the corner of West Morgan Street and Tryon Hill, just across the street from the Cafe.
Description: Winner of OpenTable's Top 50 Vegetarian Restaurants in the U.S. and INDYWeek's Best Salad in Wake County 2019. Offering an award-winning and inclusive experience since 1975 in Downtown Raleigh. Irregardless Café is an authentic Raleigh experience, offering Farm-to-Table meals sourced from local farms around the Triangle.
Reviewed 30 June 2022

Our party of two had the mango salmon, mahi mahi, the fried brussel sprouts apetizer (huge!) and a glass of Sidekick chardonnay each. Service was an A+. Total not including tip: $86.61. A guitar and bass kicked out soft jazz quietly on the night of our visit, a Friday. The food was very good but it was not elevated or next level. Irregardless, however, is a nice, relaxing night out. They are strong on vegetarian. They have music frequently. It’s a bright and pretty bistro. And if you have tickets to Goodnights, a nearby comedy club, it could not be more convenient. So, overall, recommended for a good time.

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2022

Restaurant was abuzz with activity. String duet was perfect. Menu was very interesting and was able to accommodate all customers. Shrimp and pasta was generous and delicious. Desserts were normal size.

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank EndlessSummerCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 December 2021

There's something comforting about returning to an old, timeless standby after running through the gamut of the newest/hottest eateries in the region. Just dined after several years here 12-11-21, and have decided this is my go-to place for dining in Raleigh for special events when I come over from Durham. I love Irregardless Cafe - the food, the feel and the fact it's been a staple for 45+ years. Our waiter, Vincent, was superb. Gracious and gentlemanly. The butternut squash lasagna was about the most divine dish I have had in ages! There was a wonderful jazz combo a happy din among diners. I di not want to leave! This place is a little slice of heaven.

Date of visit: December 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trapezoidhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 November 2021 via mobile

Literally can't say a bad thing about the place. Food was incredible and the staff and atmosphere were friendly and inviting. I had the b
Brisket Benedict which was full of flavor and the eggs were poached perfectly! Had a cinnamon roll that we shared and it was plenty for the whole table. The kitchen sent us some banana bread that was great as well. My friend who is Vegan found many options but went with the biscuits and gravy which she loved! Over all a great meal and can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank KG4WFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

My grown daughter and I ate here recently on a Sunday night. Irregardless was not crowded there were actually more diners in their patio than inside.

Irregardless offers a fairly limited menu but does offer vegetarian and vegan options. They also offer one of my favorite foods Rainbow Trout which is a rarity in Raleigh.

The Rainbow Trout was absolutely delicious and they gave you a huge portion. It came with couscous with mushrooms and green beans which was also really good. My daughter got a vegan zucchini noodle Bolognese and said it was great as well.

Irregardless features live music as well. The nice thing about the music is it's not so loud to drown out your conversation.

Then to finish things off my daughter shared a Tropical Fruit Taramisu. It was absolutely to die for.

Service was friendly and relaxing. There is an open dining area with nice art work.

My only suggestion to Irregardless us to offer more items in their menu and to offer salad or soup with their entrees. Otherwise everything was great.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank DonN263
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Irregardless Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Irregardless Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.