We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A high big above the rest!”

Gonza Tacos y Tequila
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 02/10
20:00
Ranked #8 of 1,487 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Come experience the best Mexican restaurant in Raleigh.
Reviewed 26 June 2022

They say some of the best things come in little packages and Gonza doesn't disappoint. There is no overwhelming amount of bland food served here, the properly proportioned entrees are so full of flavor, anything more would just be bloating and painful.

I always look forward to the house made salsa, it's a refreshing change from the standard bland mixture of preservatives and sodium out of a jar you find in most other Mexican restaurants. Take a chance on the house habanero sauce, its damn good and comes with a kick!

Although I have not tried the Vegetariano option, I have been told by several very picky vegetarians that the variety of vegetables and how they are prepared outperforms any other Mexican restaurant out there. There is no overstuffing tortillas with onions, spinach and lettuce engulfed in cheap cheese at Gonza's.

Barbacoa Quesadilla was the entree of the day with a side of their authentic rice, perfectly prepared! Gonza's impressive growth hasn't affected the attention to detail and focus on customer service, they immediately recovered from the mistake made on our order and ensured everything was right.
Cheers!

Date of visit: June 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ted G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2022

Quick summary: delish Mexican food of the Tex-Mex variety. Friendly, professional service. "Day of the Dead" mannequins decorate the place. Reasonable prices.

We visited some friends in this area while on a road trip. they suggested this place as a good casual option. (It was a busy weekend, with many colleges having their graduation ceremonies.)

The menu has a wide variety of mostly Tex-Mex options, with mains generally priced in the $teens and accompanies by sides like rice/beans. Starters & apps are generally under $10 into the $teens. No beers on tap, but the Negro Modelo was $6, and a good pour of wine by the glass $8.

Between my husband and i, and the other couple, we sampled a variety of dishes -- fajitas with chicken, Chile Relleno, and Flautas, all $15 for each main with the accompanying sides. We started by splitting the guac, and also enjoyed the complimentary chips and salsa. Everything was very tasty and fresh-tasting.

Friendly, professional service.

The casual room of tables and booths has a of Day-of-the-Dead decor. While kind of fun, you decide if your young kiddo would have problems with that.

Friendly, professional service throughout.

So, we'd be happy to be back when next in the area, and wish a place like this was closer to where we live.

Date of visit: May 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 March 2022 via mobile

We stopped here on the way to a Carolina Courage soccer match. The place is right at our Aloft hotel.

Service was fast, friendly, and fun. The food was excellent! This isn’t low quality high volume fast food.

When we asked for an extra plate to share a meal. The server had the kitchen split the meal and serve on two plates!

The mango habanero margarita was excellent too!

We highly recommend this restaurant when you’re in town.

Date of visit: March 2022
Thank RaaschFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 December 2021 via mobile

The real selling point of Gonzo is the atmosphere with many mannequins starry light and other festive displays.

The main dining room is pretty dark but cool due to all of the lighted stars. There are numerous dead displays best atmosphere in Raleigh maybe.

However the good is average and fairly expensive for what you get. Ordered vegetable tacos they give you 3 and they were very small and the vegetables were in such small pieces they didn't have much flavor. The refried beans were good. The chips and salsa were great some of the best salsa ever.

Service was pretty straightforward.

This is mainly worth a visit for the atmosphere food was pretty good but not great

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank DonN263
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 October 2021

On their web site, I spent five minutes and then, in small print above the menu, a statement that on-line ordering is inoperative. Of course, if one tries to telephone, you can either carry out order by pressing "2" (which was never answered) or order online.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Gonza Tacos y Tequila also viewed

 

Been to Gonza Tacos y Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.