We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

The Dunes Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 80 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Description: This local, Outer Banks restaurant is now in it's 39th anniversary season. That's probably why it's called a 'Nags Head Tradition' by locals. Currently open for breakfast Wednesdays thru Sundays, 7 am - noon; lunch 11:30 - 4 pm; dinner 4:00 till. with some whopping good breakfast platters and tempting southern favorites. Specialties are real southern cooking - like fried chicken. Also a specialty - local, Outer Banks seafood - broiled, fried, and always good. Steaks and prime rib round out the dinner menu. And if all this isn't enough, there's Roxie's Retail - great, flirty finds for your home or wardrobe. It's a family run organization that is glad to welcome locals and vacationers alike.
Reviewed 28 February 2021

Zach provided excellent service. Restaurant has delicious country ham and pancake breakfast . My poached eggs were perfect. Great service from a local family.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank TerrieEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2021 via mobile

Our family had a wonderful lunch! Brittany was our server and did a fantastic job! Super pleasant and food was delicious. Thanks!!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank amopstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2021 via mobile

Enjoyed a good lunch here. Chicken tenders very good. Some of us had breakfast which was also great! Our server Britney was excellent!! Very friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank pattyova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2021

Brittany was our server and she was amazing. Super kind and thoughtful.

We will definitely return on our next trip!!!

One of the few places open in February!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank nicolewebb412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021

Zach our waiter was great and the food was delicious! Cute gift shop had lunch and brought two of the purses.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank F8789NGcathym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dunes Restaurant also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to The Dunes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.