We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
282
71
15
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
282
71
15
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfort suites front desk cinnamon rolls meeting room indoor pool wilmington area the hotel staff cleaning staff business trip pleasure of staying the breakfast area stayed two nights stores and restaurants exercise room hot breakfast family reunion would recommend this hotel to anyone
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Had a few minor hiccups that escalated in to an issue that could have been resolved in a matter of minutes. Attempted to check into the hotel on a Thursday night. The lobby was not busy maybe one or two people. Made my way to the desk to check in and stood behind another individual. Desk attendant Carla, who checked my wife and I in was incredibly rude and unprofessional. Clearly in a bad mood. Having a shout match with a guest that was docile in front of us. I pushed it off as it just being that person in particular. nope. As we wrapped up things at the desk, Carla stated "what else do you want?" The only thing that I asked was where the wifi code was. She said it was on the key slip and I said where and she said "it's right..oh" There had been nothing there. This woman doesn't understand true service. if you're not happy in this field find a different one. The show is always on. The next morning was like night and day diffrence. The lobby was packed. People were stopping by the desk to chat and drop off keys. I stopped by the desk and met Office Manager Josh. I told him every painful detail of what happened the night before and told him of a few minor issues in our room. ( we had a slow drain in our tub. He had it handled the moment it was mentioned and with a smile on his face. He signed us up for rewards and even gave us points for the inconveience. I found it funny that in this situation where it was packed from both ends of the hotel that this kid wasn't stressed nor rude like his cohort and that stood out to me. The blonde Jillian (don't quote me) that we met at the desk and the housekeepers we dealt with on our three night stay were very friendly. Elements of this hotel are great. Large breakfast, helpful individuals. I would recommend. Just avoid Carla if you can. I would've ranked this hotel higher if check in was better. left a bad taste in my mouth

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellythomason72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and most of our staff could make you feel right at home during your time in Leland. I greatly appreciate your feedback on the aspects we need to improve and I have already addressed your comments with management. Thank you again as this is the best way we can improve and move forward. We hope you will still consider staying with us again in the future. Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

I'm Currently Visiting This Holiday Inn On A Business Trip Unfortunately Hurricane Florence Also Visited This Area At The Same Time. Fortunately, Thanks To Karla And Her Helpful Staff The Whole Hotel was Kept Running Like A Fine Tuned Machine.Breakfast Was Still Served, Towels Were Kept Clean And Everyone Was All Smiles. I Would Definitely Recommend This Establishment For Anyones Future Stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you for your review. I'm so glad to hear that our staff made you feel so well taken care of during your stay with us throughout Hurricane Florence. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

We stayed two nights while looking for a home to purchase. The hotel staff were very helpful and courteous. The room was clean, neat and well appointed. The only problem we had was that the air conditioning was not cooling the room off. The staff moved us and the second room was the same to start. After a few hours the room cooled off enough to sleep comfortably. The breakfast was pretty good. Some hot foods, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal and a variety of add ons. All in all it was a good place to stay.

Room tip: We were on the third floor and had no noise.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobra487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and apologize for the initial issues you had with the AC. I'm glad we were able to resolve this for you and you got a good night's sleep. We hope you will join us again in the future. Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

The facility was clean and up to date in appearance. Our room was comfortable, clean and the bed seemed back and new. We found the desk clerks and staff very accommodating and made wonderful suggestions as to the local sights, restaurants and were overall very hospitable and professional.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank lkmartin1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thank you for your review. I'm so glad that you felt so well accommodated during your stay with us! We appreciate your kind words and we hope to see you back again in the future! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We are always pleased with the accommodations at Holiday Inn! We were only disappointed that they didn't have their famous cinnamon rolls! They replaced them with Cinnabon; but I can get those at the mall or the airport!

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank jimdremajimdrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thank you for your review. I'm so happy to hear that you had such a great stay with us! We hope to see you back again the next time you visit the Leland area! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews