We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shutters On the Banks
Nearby Hotels
Cypress House Inn(Kill Devil Hills)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Ranch Resort(Kill Devil Hills)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outer Banks Beach Club(Kill Devil Hills)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outer Banks Inn(Kill Devil Hills)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outer Banks Motor Lodge(Kill Devil Hills)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn On The Ocean(Kill Devil Hills)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,051)
Filter reviews
1,051 results
Traveller rating
513
355
119
44
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
355
119
44
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower buildingindoor poolwaffleshot tubcontinental breakfastboiled eggsdune viewnice gazebosecond floorwaffle makerfloor roomwatch the sunriseprivate balconyjockey's ridgebiscuits and gravydefinitely stay here againbeach access
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,051 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On a last minute decision my husband and I decided to celebrate our anniversary at Shutters on the Bank. I am so glad that we did! When making our reservation it asked if we had something special going on and my husband stated that we were celebrating our anniversary...well upon our arrival - there was well wishes for our anniversary on their business sign. They had my heart after that (smile). Tracey who checked us in was very friendly and hospitable and even offered to take our picture in front of the sign. She told us that the property was recently renovated. The grounds were clean and impeccable. Upon entry of our room. I was amazed at the ambience set. The AC was just right and there was a turtle lamp that functioned as a night lite that gave a beautiful ambience to the room. We had our own private patio that overlooked the dunes facing the beach. The staff was amazing. They took amazing care of the property and everyone spoke and said hello! Housekeeping came in everyday and refreshed our soap...I called myself making the bed but they refreshed our bed as well and took the trash out (I never had to request our trash be removed). The breakfast was good and just enough. They offered sausage and gravy, waffles, fruit, bagels, muffins, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage links and cereal. The breakfast team - Debbie and her helpers were amazing! We had such a awesome experience at Shutters On the Banks that we will be back again not to just celebrate our anniversary but we are planning our vow renewals for this location.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank mimigb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello mimigb2014,

Thank you for the review, we are so grateful for your kind words. We are happy that that you found your new vacation spot and enjoyed your stay with us. Happy Anniversary ! The staff are going to be so delighted that you have mentioned them in your review, Thank you. Our team works very hard to make sure each of our guest have an enjoyable experience. We look forward to seeing you all again and hope you do plan your vow renewals with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It’s more like a motel than hotel. Front desk staff were friendly & efficient. The room was ok, but the beds were extremely soft, so nothing wonderful except we did have a glimpse of the sea. The serious downfall was the breakfast . . . The coffee was the worst we had ever had in our travels throughout the US, the selection was pitiful or rather worse than what you find in a school cafeteria and the 60+dyed long hair blond woman was extremely rude to the guests, who were not sure how to use the self serve waffle maker . . . This person should not be out front assisting guests! To make matters worse, they had tacky styrofoam cups & plates, not something that is environmentally friendly & especially located on the beach. Shutters breakfast was so bad, that we went out to breakfast at Stack’em High Pancakes the following two mornings during our stay, where the Stack’em’s food & friendly efficient staff were outstanding . . . Well worth it!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Margaret S,

Thank you for the review and letting us know about your recent stay. We apologize that you didn't like the property and the complementary breakfast set up. We are glad you had a chance to see the ocean, what a wonderful view from our backyard. We will review your comments about the breakfast aid, we do apologize that she was rude to you and other guest. We wish you a happy sunshining summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We did not have reservations and stopped in on a Thursday looking for a room. The lady at the front desk offered to show us the rooms, one ocean view and one dune view. As soon as we walked into the ocean view, we knew we were staying there. The rooms were so clean and decorated quite nicely. They allowed us to check in early which was quite appreciated. They served a full complimentary breakfast which was very nice. Usually I try to stick to hotel names I know, but this place was better than any chain hotel. I will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmuhaluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello rmuhaluk,

Thank you for the review. We are so glad that you all walked in and found a place you loved! We are so delighted that you stayed with us and can't wait till you come back again. Have a wonderful summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came for New Years Eve. The rooms were pretty decent, free breakfast, and an indoor pool. The kids had a blast so I’d say it was a good stay/trip. We would definitely stay again. This was last minute and didn’t disappoint.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank H3ath3r8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello H3ath3r8,

Thank you for the review. Glad you rang in the new year with us. Hope 2018 has been a good year for you this far. We hope you will have a chance to come back and visit us in the summer or fall the beach is beautiful this time of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I recently moved to NC and have never been to the Outer Banks. Our kids were away on their own Spring Break trips so we got away for a few days. This hotel was clean and friendly. The rooms were large and updated. We were on the third floor with an ocean view which was perfect! Beds were comfortable with a large picture window and balcony with seating. Breakfast offered a variety of hot and cold items. The dining area was small so plan to take it to your room or eat on the outdoor patio or pergola.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank luckycanucky67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello luckycanucky67,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you had a chance to have some alone time without the kids. We hope you will come back and visit us again and bring the kids they will love the beach and our pools. Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews