We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Colossus(St Mary's)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Star Castle(St Mary's)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Atlantic Inn(St Mary's)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
18
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringminute walkisles of scillyhugh townhosteltaxistvfacilitiesloungesuiteshowerisland
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 22 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely hostel. It is situated in a pretty area in the middle of St Mary's so it is easy to explore all the different parts of the island from there. It was very clean and comfortable with a nice cooking and eating area. Our room was a good size with en suite facilities and an outside terrace with a picnic table, which was lovely. We also enjoyed the food in the cafe, particularly the cakes.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gmars1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Having stayed on St Mary's several times in the past, this hostel is an excellent budget choice for couples, friends or small groups.
Approximately 20-30 minutes from the quay, it is easily walkable, hence removing the need for numerous taxis throughout your stay.
The rooms are en-suite, with a large kitchen and lounge area. As a new site, the accommodation is very clean, well-stocked and comfortable. I will definitely be staying here again.
One point to note, the phone reception (including wi-fi) is virtually non-existent in the rooms, including the kitchen and lounge. This should not be an issue as the Isles of Scilly is not a destination for gadget-hungry individuals, but worth noting. This does also make the TV unwatchable in the lounge.
Phone reception and Wi-Fi is available outside and in the café.

Room Tip: Most rooms have en-suite, so suggest choosing a single room for a little privacy
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alhiron, Owner at Longstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Hi Russell,
Thank you so much for your positive comments.
We apologise that the Wifi was not working well during your stay with us. A teething problem with the main connection caused a poor signal, however this has now been rectified, and if you hopefully choose to visit us again you should find that this is now usable throughout the entire hostel.
Safe travels, it was great to meet you.
Amy, Suzy and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

This was the perfect base for exploring the Isles of Scilly. The lodge itself is located about a 20 minutes walk from the quayside in Hugh Town, on the naturally beautiful island of St. Mary’s. The lodge has only opened within the last couple of weeks, and I can honestly say there is nothing I could fault. It is clearly apparent the passion the team here have, everyone was extremely friendly, welcoming and displayed a genuine interest in their guests. I stayed for two nights in a single en-suite room. The room was tastefully decorated and well appointed with views onto the rear garden. It had a small table with desk chair, and functional clothes hanging area and one of the most comfortable beds I’ve ever slept in. There was also an information folder full of useful information about the accommodation and surrounding area. Whilst the room did contain a bathmat, bath towels are not provided but can be hired from reception for a small charge. The lodge also has a large communal area with a kitchen, dining and lounge area for guests to use, as well as a laundry room. Adjacent to the lodge is Longstone cafe, which offers a good menu of freshly made produce and was lovely place to drop by for cream tea. I would not hesitate to book another break away to Longstone Lodge. The Isles of Scilly truly are a magical place and my only regret is not staying longer.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank Rhys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alhiron, Owner at Longstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you Rhys. It was great to meet you and we hope to see you at Longstone Lodge again soon.
Amy, Suzy and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC