We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
633 results
Traveller rating
396
189
29
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
396
189
29
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great coffee espresso room rooftop terrace private bathroom the ground floor breakfast is served the cafe downstairs charming place single room stayed two nights lots of character each morning high ceilings old building enjoyed my stay small hotel narrow streets
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 633 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

The airport pick up arranged by the coffee house was quick and easy, ending with a short walk through a bustling market to get there, which was wonderful.
Relaxed check in over a complimentary drink. As our bags were being taken to our room, we were given a map, and shown our way around Stone Town.
The room was nice, and bathroom, although not en-suite, was private, large, and had a good shower with plenty of hot water.

We loved the roof terrace, as a place to enjoy a cold beer and plan our next few days, and the breakfast up there was a lovely, relaxed experience with great food, and of course, good coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, General Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for this lovely review! We are delighted to read your compliments on our services, atmosphere as well as food and of course our coffee. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We love the Zanzibar Coffee House. The rooms are great, even the one we had with a private bath down the hall. That worked out much better than we thought it would. Eating breakfast from the rooftop overlooking Stonetown is a fantastic experience. We also sat up there in the evening to enjoy the breeze and view. Just a lovely way to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, General Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

A most sincere thank you from the whole team! Wonderful to hear that you had a great experience staying with us. We can't wait to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Great hotel in the middle of Stone Town! We were pleasantly greeted with complimentary drinks and escorted to the Arabica Suite. Lovely interior, very clean, and plenty of hot water. The staff was very friendly. The Swiss manager, Saphira, was extremely helpful and gave us several tips for exploring Stone Town. I give this hotel my full endorsement! Thanks again!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gogator85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, General Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your excellent review! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us from the beginning until your departure. We can't wait to have the chance to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Our last night in Stonetown was at Zanzibar Coffee House. Beautiful old building. The best part was breakfast on the rooftop with 360 view. Great food, too. Quiet, clean, beautiful bathrooms with hot water. They even let us store our luggage a few hrs before check in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank F6551FMelizabethm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, General Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for this lovely review. We are delighted to have had the opportunity to have you as our guest and are pleased that you liked the hotel ambience and our services. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

The outside of the hotel gives no indication of what lies inside. You enter from a busy pedestrian alley into the calm and simple beauty of the hotel. We were in Cappuccino on the first floor. Simply but elegantly furnished with AC and fan. The staff were fantastic. The Manageress personally went off in search of a medication I needed and sourced it despite it being Eid. Needless to say the coffee was superb and the food excellent. We took a couple of their cinnamon buns to sustain us on the plane.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jcor2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, General Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Our warmest greetings from Zanzibar Coffee House and thank you for sharing your positive experience during your stay at our boutique hotel. It is such a pleasure knowing that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us. We were pleased to host you and hope you come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews