We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,169)
Filter reviews
1,169 results
Traveller rating
413
464
192
75
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
464
192
75
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no alcohol lovely pool swimming pool overlooking the beach freddie mercury prison island perfect location family room antique furniture night market stone town zanzibar four poster bed charming hotel indian ocean double room forodhani park mosquito net
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,169 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. The staff is very friendly and professional. We were upgraded and were very happy about that. I highly recommend this hotel. The view of the room 200 is just stunning! Thanks so much to make our stay as a dream.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mathougoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing week at tembo hotel when we were on holiday.
We had our room in the annex of the hotel at the other side of the street (which was only a problem because i couldnt get to the pool in just a swimsuit) and we were surprised by that (which wasnt justified because it was mentioned in the confirmation we just didnt pay attention to it).
Anyway they picked us up from the airport with a little table with our names (felt like a superstar). The staff were really nice and helpful and everybody just smiled a lot. :)
Sometimes we didnt feel like going out fir dinner and ate at the place and the food there is really nice and they give big portions. They have a lot of options too.
The breakfast was also really nice and on sundays they have special zanzibar offer (can’t remember the name). They have an omlette and a pancake table where the chef is really nice.
When we checked out there was a slight mixup apparently the booking.com confirmation didnt match with their account but at the end it got sorted.
All in all, do recommend !!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Júlia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We would go back anytime to this lovely hotel right at the beach and in the city centre. It is ideally located for discovering the highlights of Stone Town and the access to and view on the beach is equally attractive. It is easy to book trips either through locals on the beach of the nearby agencies or the hotel service (more convenient though more expensive). Staff are polite, cheerful, helpful; we felt so welcome. The swimming pool is nice and used for rehearsal dive training, which is not really an issue. Breakfast is OK, lunch and dinner is fine and enjoyable even just because of the setting right at the beach. Our family room was a joy. Thank you all!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svenski-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

We loved our stay in Stone Town and the Tembo Hotel made it extra special. The beach facing facility gave us a convenient use of the beach. One can sit there for hours looking at the passers by and the boat activity. Breakfast is average however all the staff are friendly and pleasant. They do not serve alcohol.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Jaqui D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

I needed help to use a phone call,i left my bag at the airport thanx to the Receptiont,they let me call a Taxi guy to go grab my bag, breakfast was absolutely gorgeous room clean thanks to all the staff for making my vacation more special than I believed(had a nice morning swimm at the beach )wow the swimming pool lovely i say would surely come back soon

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank Arat I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews