We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
60
45
20
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
45
20
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool food market great location walking distance small pool spacious room traditional furniture atmospheric hotel cooked breakfast staff was very friendly and helpful night market fresh fruit top floor central location the hotel staff fort balcony
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Very nice hotel, with a thoughtful staff. My room was spacious and had a balcony with a view of the old fort. The location is central to all the interesting spots in Stone Town. AC, mosquito netting, and a sumptuous breakfast that was included in the room price.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We stayed in a beautiful, spacious room with a balcony over-looking the Old Fort,
and we love the rooftop terrace with panoramic views of the city and the sea. Breakfast was delicious and a variety of choices. The manager was very accomodating; coming back from Nungwi, we had to pass by the clinic due to a skin allergy situation. We were able to drop off our bags at the Forodhani Hotel for a couple of hours while we had to go to the hospital. We highly appreciate the manager's compassion and kindnesss!

The only minor point of our stay was during lunch time: we had ordered 2 meals to eat on the rooftop terrace and the waiter stayed with us the whole time we ate. I am sure this was done with good intensions but it made us slightly uncomfortable considering we were the only two people there.

All in all, we greatly recommend this hotel. Service was impeccable, and it is well situated in the heart of Stone Town.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank c0r0nad0anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

This place was great! From the kind people that run the hotel to the furniture, also it was very very clean. The swimming pool was very nice. They helped us to organise tours and were always looking after us if we need anything. Breakfast was also good. The location is great, walking distance to historical places and restaurants and the beach... also across the road from Forodhani park that has a nice food market in te evening.

Room tip: Balcony rooms that face the fort are very nice
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheArgentineanChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Good hotel in the center of Stown Town.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

The hotel offers spacious room with AC and there is a small pool on the rooftop.
Well managed and very clean.

Breakfast is basic but decent.

Excellent value for money!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank KrisB1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

I have no complaints about Forodhani Park Hotel and had a very good experience. The hotel is basic but includes everything you need, large bathroom, spacious room, quiet, decent free breakfast in the morning. Breakfast included fruits, breads, omelettes, tea, coffee. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Location was great and just around the corner from some much more expensive hotels. Service was great and staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. WiFi was good for Zanzibar standards because WiFi is not that great anywhere really in Zanzibar. Stay at Forodhani and walk to the bars of the more expensive hotels. You can walk almost everywhere in Stonetown anyways. That's what I did and saved a lot of money instead of staying the Park Hyatt. I recommend this hotel if you do not need luxury, but something basic and comfortable.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank west517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews