We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
60
45
19
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
45
19
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool food market perfect location small pool spacious room atmospheric hotel cooked breakfast staff was very friendly and helpful room service night market top floor the hotel staff fort furniture balcony zanzibar wifi
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Breakfast at Forodhani Park Hotel is quite good because of some variety (NOT the same thing everyday)!
Location of the hotel is excellent! Plenty of things to do and see locally - like the Old Fort, House of Wonders, taking boat rides etc.
Meals at the cafes or restaurants at Forodhani seafront not expensive at all. For example, a 3 course meal (main course includes choices of various seafood) plus a glass of wine costs USD 16 at the Monsoon Restaurant facing Forodhani seafront. Small cafes at Forodhani park can serve a breakfast at a very reasonable price.
Tourists should be VERY careful (especially on beaches in the north of Zanzibar) not to carry valuables or lots of cash whilst walking around - preferably leave everything in the hotel safe deposit.

Room Tip: Twin or Double Rooms with balconies facing the Old Fort.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sam0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

ideally located behind old arab fort
short waling distance to ferry terminal (for ferries to/from DAR ES SALAM)
traditional Zanzibar palace
BEAUTIFULLY RENOVATED
WONDERFULL ARCHITECTURE
very tastefull furniture
refined service
perfumed rooms !
small but cute swimming pool on roof terrace
simple but excellent food
GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY...

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Krutferduda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We stayed in Forodhani Park Hotel from 8 Feb to 11 Feb 2017. The hotel is pleasant and breakfast is enough to fill your tummmy. Lot's of fresh fruit, cereals as well as cooked breakfast.

We had a small issue as we booked for 4 nights (booked 2 months in advance) but when we arrived we were told we could only stay 2 nights as there was a festival and they had completely booked the hotel. Abdul (manager I think) offered to move us to another hotel but we asked the name and went to look at it and we were not happy. Long story short they allowed us to stay 3 nights and we decided to move to Paje a day early. Overall we were happy with how they handled the problem but definitely due to us not just accepting them moving us.

I can recommend this hotel as well as their sister hotel called "Dhow Palace"

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan_Becker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

I arrived in Zanzibar after a 2 day journey to work at the music festival and was put up in this luxury hotel. My first impression was that I was in paradise, the island is gorgeous anyway, but this hotel makes it just perfect. There was a real nice relationship with the staff there who created a laid back family vibe not always found in places that feel luxurious.

There was a gentle reminder by phone when I was the last one for breakfast and I was happy that the staff called me by name. Staff ready to help at any moment.

Great place to stay in the historic part of Zanzibar Island.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilnayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Very good hotel. The rooms are fantastic, big, very nice, furniture and bathroom with an Arabic design. Beds are big, good matras, and also in local design. There is airco and a fan in most of the rooms. Breakfast is simple but OK. Chose the rooms with view on the city!

Room Tip: Chose the rooms with balkon and view on the city
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qualiphot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews