We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
163
131
26
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
131
26
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews forodhani gardens manager mr eggs cooked to order zanzibar trip walking distance excellent location air con rooftop restaurant rooms are nice central location mosquito net twin room the hotel manager night market stayed for nights pleasant stay dar es salaam
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2018

The location is great, easy to get to the beach, food market, shops, historic sights etc.
Breakfast is simple but delicious- choice of eggs, pancakes or toast, plate of fruits, juice and coffee/tea.
Stuff is very friendly and ready to provide recommendations and answer all questions.
Room we had was quite small, but good enough for a sleep. Two bottles of water were provided free of charge. There were some toiletries, but no hair dryer and iron. wi-fi was on and off as on the rest of the island. Generally very clean, however it might the time to replace the towels- they were already grey-ish and had mildew smell when wet.
We can definitely recommend this place for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BoardingPass791350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We had two nights here to end our 3 week African holiday and it was the perfect choice. The hotel, situated just behind The Doubletree By Hilton, is in the perfect location to explore Stone Town from. Restaurants and cafes - and the Gelato shop! - are all close by and all the things you'd want to see - the Slave Markets; the waterfront; The Palace Museum etc - are all in easy walking distance. The staff will happily draw a map for you and give you guidance for whatever it is you're seeking and they'll do it with good grace, friendliness and good humour. Our room was clean and comfortable with much appreciated, if slightly noisy, air-conditioning. The breakfast on the rooftop terrace is simple but tasty although we had to pretty much skip it on our last morning as we needed to leave by 8.00am to get to the airport and even though breakfast is listed as from 7.00am they were still setting up and preparing it at 7.30, when we had to head back to our room to clear up and check out. We still managed a quick cup of tea and some toast but it would have been good to have had a full breakfast, as we had to travel all day from there. That's a small complaint though. I'd recommend this hotel without reservations and will certainly stay there again should I return to Zanzibar. One other small thing - it might be time time to consider changing the shower curtains though. Ours was looking decidedly worse for wear. Again, a very small complaint. Book Al Minar with confidence and without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Noel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here recently for two nights. It’s well sign posted and just behind the Double Tree Hotel. Location is great as so easy to walk everywhere and right near the water

The highlight of our stay are the staff and management. They are delightful and so helpful. They will assist with anything from where to eat - and how much to pay - to hints of where to go and what to see.

Rooms are neat and comfortable and breakfast is good quality standard African breakfast fare. Breakfast starts at 7am - just build In a bit of buffer with that Africa pole pole timing.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Guide798387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We spent two nights at Al Minar at the end of our Zanzibar trip and felt incredibly at home from the welcoming cold drink on arrival to unexpected personal attention from the manager. We arrived a little sceptical as the hotel is down an alley and the entrance is deceptive, but it's great value for money, brilliantly located and we left feeling like friends.

Breakfasts in Zanzibar can be quite basic and by then we had tired of eggs several ways but the variety of fruit is outstanding compared to other establishments - even dates which we didn't find anywhere else - and the rooftop is a welcome escape from the heat. The fruit juice was really good too.

Al Minar is incredibly well located, within walking distance of most places, including the old Fort and Forodhani Gardens night market that serves amazing food for next to nothing. The rooms are a decent size and the beds are super comfortable.

Santosh, the manager is a treat. We were delighted by the hand-drawn maps he happily drew for us, his welcoming smile, all round attention to detail and great conversation.

And then there is the local rooster who rules the alley below. He's an early riser and Santosh has been trying to buy him for two years for obvious reasons, but the owner refuses to part with him. Rather than being a problem, we were amused by this bird's antics because this is authentic Stone Town and the reason we travel. If you want to be numbed from the spirit of a city, stay at the Hyatt where you never leave your room :-)

And finally, Al Minar is located a minute away from Tamu, the most addictive gelato in Zanzibar.

We were sorry to leave!

Room Tip: There is no life so if stairs are a problem book on the lower floors
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KarenLCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

It is the worst experience ever. We arrived late at the airport, the hotel driver was supposed to be waiting for us but he arrived 30 min later and charged us 20$ for 9 km of drive. When we arrived to the hotel the smell was very weird, moist and sewage. The room was very dark, the bed sheets were smudged along with many tiny hairs. The carpet was full of dust. When it comes to the toilet it is a disaster. The shower and the sink canalisation were clogged and the water flash block after every single use. We couldn’t sleep all the night. In the morning we have cancelled our reservation and we went to another hotel. The manager was kind and he refunded us 30% of the du amount. The neighborhood is horrible aswell. I don’t recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank LinaT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santosh G, General Manager at Al Minar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Lina,

Greetings of the day !!

first of all We would like to express our extreme apologies for the series of inconvenience you had to go through.

We are always committed to make all our guests' stay comfortable. Next morning after the complain was reported we immediately offered you another room but you refused to take. We did come to check with you to the room and we could not smell any sewage, nor did we see tiny hairs like you have mentioned here. With regards to the neighborhood, we are in the central location of the stone-town, thus we are surrounded by the neighbouring houses.

However we consider all these feedback as a room to grow. Please do visit us as a second opportunity, we promise; you will experience the most comfortable and memorable stay with us.

should you like to discuss about the matter further, please do not hesitate to contact us as santosh@alminarhotel.com

have a wonderful day !!

Best Regards
Santosh Giri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews