We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
220
119
36
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
119
36
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant town hotel beautiful hotel air conditioning large bathroom an excellent guide lovely boutique superb location sitting area centrally located in stone town top floor old house public areas breakfast was included sunset drinks walking tour two night stay
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Kishiwa House is a charming, boutique hotel in the middle of Stone Town. Rooms are big, comfy and nicely designed, the dining area offers a stunning view and excellent breakfast. The building itself has a very interesting history and it was indeed a pleasure to stay at Kisiwa House. The staff was friendly, helpful and informative. I do recommend though to ask for a room in the main building. We have stayed there for two nights with an overnight trip to Chumbee Island in between, and for the second night we've got the room in the building on the side which we didn't like as much - it was very spacious but also very dark and a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the upper floors of the main building are quieter and sunnier
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KisiwaHouse, Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so very much for giving us a 5 star review and also sharing your wonderfull feedback regarding your stay at the Kisiwa House.
We appreciate you sharing your comments and we are happy to know that you found our hotels overall service up to your expectation.

It is our hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you

Alifya Nizar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

We stayed at Kisiwa House in Stone Town, for a short stop on our way home from our safari in Tanzania.

The hotel was located in a quiet street just off the main area, and was a lovely place to stay in Stone Town.

We were located on the second floor, which would be a problem if mobility was an issue, as the stairs were very steep, but the room was beautiful, and generally quiet.

Rooms on the lower floors tended to be more noisy.

We arranged for a Walk around the town with Hamid from Gallery Tours, who was an excellent guide, and extremely knowledgable of the history and culture of Stone Town.

If you are going to stay in Stone Town this is a must, as it can be a bit daunting in view of the number of people who wopuld like to sell you something, but a pleasant "no thank you" is sufficient.

Dave and Sandra Smith

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davebirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KisiwaHouse, Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear Dave,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor.

I am happy you found the overall accommodation and hotel location to your liking.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Kisiwa House in the near future and we hope on your next visit you will stay longer with us and enjoy Stone Town and our hospitality.

Best regards.
Alifya Nizar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Chose this hotel following good reviews on tripadvisor however we were extremely disappointed. The building and rooms are lovely but the service was shocking. Our first night in the restaurant we waited two hours for our starter and then the menu for main course only had one portion of beef left and the fish dishes ( one of which had a 12$ surcharge).
The following night only fish available.
The third night we ate elsewhere despite having paid for dinner.
There was no soap or hand towel in restaurant toilets for the entire 3 night stay.
Although others had a welcome drink we did not get offered one.( hit and miss service)
The coffee lounge on the ground floor advertises enjoy coffee or tea in quiet surroundings between 10-1800 but my son was refused a coffee until the restaurant opened later in the evening. So to get a drink we had to go to another hotel.
The hotel is extremely noisy from the streets around it and the “call to prayer” I realise the hotel can’t do anything about this but just to let others know in advance.
The hotel has offered to refund our evening meal for the night we chose not to eat there however we will not be going back and our tour operator will not recommend it to future clients.
A real shame because the service we had on an 8 day safari and 4 days at beach was excellent.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KisiwaHouse, Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Helen,

Thank you for staying with us. Your feedback is valuable to us and we ensure that we offer best of our services and hospitality to all our guests. We regret the inconveniences caused to you by these very unfortunate events during your stay with us, these in no way represent us and the services we offer at Kisiwa House.

We value your feedback as it continuously helps us to improve the level of service and amenities we offer to our valued guests.
We will discuss the same with our management and offer appropriate service recovery measures as it our priority that all our guest enjoy top class service.

At Kisiwa House we work hard to ensure that our guests leave the hotel with memories and stories to rejoice with, the refund we offered will be transfered into your account.
Thank you

Alifya Nizar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

This is a quality hotel with a welcoming staff located in the Stone Town area. Our room was charming and spacious with a TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and a big bathroom with toiletries, bathrobe, a shower and bathtub. Bottled water and free wi-fi comes with the room. The breakfast was very nice and the view from the top was beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fccox11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KisiwaHouse, Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your great feedback regarding your stay at Kisiwa House!
We appreciate you sharing your comments and we are happy to read that you found the hotel location and the service up to your expectation.

It is our hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you,
Alifya Nizar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Our party of 4 stayed here one night before heading to our Zanzibar beach resort. The guest house is absolutely beautiful! Our rooms were huge, spotless and decorated beautifully. We loved the big shutters which they closed for you at night and the large bathroom. The wood work in the rooms, halls, stairs and landing is stunning. The staff were extremely professional, friendly and efficient. The roof top dining and breakfast area was most enjoyable. Liked that it was small and intimate. The guest house is in a great location, we did a walking tour from the hotel and easily were able to see the main areas of Stone Town. Huge bonus for my fellow shoppers, we did some of our best shopping five minutes from the hotel! We had planned to be picked up to go to the beach hotel at 10 am but after seeing the shopping possibilities we asked the hotel to call and change our pick up till later which they did with a smile. They held our bags in locked storage while we loaded up on batiks, tingatinga and much more. Highly recommend this hotel, I would stay here again for sure!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank travellivelearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KisiwaHouse, Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to send us your positive feed back and I am glad you found in the Kisiwa House the quality of service to your expectations and I will be proud to convey your encouragement to all our Team Members.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon with the same passion in Stone Town and Kisiwa House.

Thank you,

Alifya Nizar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews