We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza, great service”

La Taverna Italian Restaurant Cafe & Pizzeria
Ranked #12 of 83 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Taverna is a story of passion.The story of our family with three generations of cooking in our blood. -------------------------------------------------- We've come together to bring you the best of our family recipes from various regions of Italy: Tuscany, Milano, Roma & Napoli. -------------------------------------------------- We create traditional, home-made pastas, pizzas, breads, & desserts - serving a wide variety of imported, cured Italian meats, cheeses & coffee drinks. -------------------------------------------------- We take great pride in the quality of our ingredients.Many of our pasta's are home-made using a combination of recipes passed down from three generations of chefs.Most of our cured meats, cheeses and italian products are imported.All of our olive oil is extra-virgin, even in our cooking. -------------------------------------------------- Open 11 to 11 - Closed Sundays
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent thin crust pizza in Zanzibar, especially the cheese. They know how to pile on the cheese. I was impressed.

Also, it was astoundingly fast. I felt like I got my pizza incredibly fast, which is rare in Zanzibar. Really pleased and highly recommend if you’re looking for an alternative to sea food while in Zanzibar!

Thank cvsloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

8 - 12 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

This place has pathetic service. Be ready to wait atleast 80 mins before your food arrives on your table.

If you are allergenic to ciggarate smoke, then you better avoid this place.
Only Italian menu - with ripped off prices.
More of a pub compared to a dinning restaurant.

Outside area has tonnes of mosquito. Either to wear long or bring your repalent as they dont have one.

Zanzibar has alot better options, on the same street

Stay away..

Thank shabbirk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarziaMatteo, Owner at La Taverna Italian Restaurant Cafe & Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Mah ... it seems very biased as a review ...
Pathetic? 80 minutes? tons of mosquitoes? cigarette smoke? a pub? best options in the same road? do not we have the repellent? It's all fake!
Explain me ... you were sitting next to the big boss (as per the picture) and you did not even show a minimum of impatience in having to wait 80 minutes? you could very well ask why the wait was so long, as long as it is true, or maybe ask those who were smoking to move (even if there are no restrictions on cigarette smoke in Zanzibar)!
I've never seen a pub without a nice counter and I do not think we raise mosquitoes, it's the rainy season and we share the misfortune with all the other inhabitants, workers or better options of our street or stone town ....
But the thing that very puzzles me is the statement that we do not have the repellent .... it is written in the menu and we care a lot to let you try the 100% natural repellent of ZAZIBAR AQUA produced by one of our dearest friend and loyal customer ...
Have you done a single tripadvisor review in your life and you do it for a place you find pathetic? Better spend those five minutes to ask the owner explanation...
What is your real interest in addition to the free denigration? maybe you own the better option in the same street or do you just want to save the world from a pathetic experience at La Taverna?

Shabbir ... stay away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

The pizza here is just great, beautiful cosy restaurant with simple but classy decor. Best pizza i have ever had

Thank _poppypopsicle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We been two times for lunch during our holiday. Both times all very good.
There is a little terrace where you can eat and enjoy the good weather. We tried pizza and pasta. Everything was nice! Service is good and staff friendly and polite.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank monya101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

We went here for some much needed western food after 4 weeks overlanding thru east Africa and it didn't disappoint. We had a pizza eachwhich had good flavour and a nice thin crispy base.
The service was good and efficient. I would certainly recommend if you feel like Italian while in Stone town.

Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverna Italian Restaurant Cafe & Pizzeria also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City

Been to La Taverna Italian Restaurant Cafe & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing