We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront paradise”
Review of Le Sakoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Sakoa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2016

This was our fifth time in Mauritius and third consecutive stay at Sakoa. We have stayed at well known five star resorts on the Island, but Sakoa's beachfront location and relaxed style is unbeatable. We have been reluctant to write a review because we wanted to keep it secret! The staff are attentive and very caring, from O'Bryan to Rajiv, they make your experience personable and special. The rooms are stylish and spacious with a large terrace and the sea view rooms have amazing views of Trou aux Biches. With only 16 rooms, the hotel is very comfortable and luxurious yet casual and relaxed, perfect for a private, quiet week relaxing and reading on the beach. The breakfast is very good and the restaurant takes special orders for lunch and dinner which adds to the boutique experience. Unlike larger hotel complexes, all the rooms are within a stones throw from the beach.The beach is protected by a coral reef about one hundred metres out, making it ideal for swimming and snorkelling. Trou aux Biches is one of best beaches on the island and given its location on the North West coast, it doesn't rain as much even in low season. We couldn't recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henri_de_Chazal, Sales & Marketing Executive at Le Sakoa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear Rachel P,

Sakoa entire team thank you for the nice and detailed review you shared on Tripadvisor!

We are so glad to read that our service and all the team met your expectation each time you came at Sakoa Boutik Hotel.

Our main priority, as a Boutique Hotel, is to give the more personalized service as possible and, in this mind, we are planning new features that will give you the opportunity to create more unique memories.

All the team will be pleased to welcome you for your fourth time at Sakoa Boutik Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Had a very pleasant stay. The rooms are large and well furnished. Service cannot be faulted.

I personally didn't like the shower cubicle containing the toilet too. When you shower, the toilet gets wet. Was not crazy about the room location either... No views, close to the road.

We stayed two nights, one I got hot water, the other not.

The restaurant was good, and the chef very kindly made me some gluten free bread. Altogether the service was great. The restaurant and beach area were lovely too.

This is a fairly new hotel. The night after we stayed at Mystik, which is pretty close, also new. It's half the price and much better value for money altogether.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Penelope T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henri_de_Chazal, Sales & Marketing Executive at Le Sakoa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Sakoa entire team thank you for review on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to read that we met your expectation on food and services.
Furthermore, we have taken good note of your comment on the bathroom set up as well as the hot water problem.

I am pleased to announce you that the water mater has already been repaired from start of June and that as from the 1st of November 2016, we will finish the bathrooms’ refurbishment and that Shower and comfort station will be totally separate.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again at Sakoa Boutik Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

we just came back from Le Samoa hotel very small hotel with less than 20 rooms,the rooms are beautiful . We were welcome by the Resident Manager O'Bryan and Jessy where they serve you their welcome brink with the beach in front amazing view.

We had room 14 on the first floor this room has the best view and if you want to see the sunset this is the best place except on the beach. The room was nicely decorated with a small kitchen in the room.

The food in the restaurant is delicious try the tuna carpatio this is delicious.
One thing to work on would be the evening entertainment around the bar.

We will be coming back special thanks to Hazagen,Rajeev, Jessy,Koshika,Mehreen and O'Bryan.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor has good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CCB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

We loved Le Sakoa. It is a beautiful little hotel in a lovely location. From the moment you walk through the front gate you know that you have arrived somewhere really special.

We had room number 7 which is downstairs, opposite the reception, and quite nicely located. While not as close to the sea as we might have wished, it is not right next to the road either. We had a gorgeous view of the sun sinking into the sea when we sat outside on our terrace.

The room was lovely; spacious and spotless and tastefully decorated. There is a small kitchen with a fridge which was really useful, a good size bathroom, and plenty of storage space. There were just two small niggles that made it less than 100% perfect - and both of these could have been resolved by the provision of a long pole with a hook on the end!! We sorted them by standing on a chair, at nightfall and again in the morning!! Firstly, to close the very high bathroom window at night (to keep out the mozzies), and open it again in the morning. And secondly, to draw the floor to ceiling curtains at night (so we weren't the floor show!) and most mornings we needed to stand on a chair to reattach the curtains to the rings!

The staff throughout were kind and thoughtful and did everything to make our stay a pleasure - from the security guards who discretely keep their eyes on all the comings and goings, to the lovely ladies who keep everything looking immaculate. And a special thanks to the kind waiter who ensured that we were served with a three course meal very speedily on our final night; we did not want to leave and time was tight for getting to the airport!

The hotel was fully booked while we were staying, so there was no chance to check-in early or check-out late, but we were made welcome at both ends of our visit. There was luggage storage and the facilities to shower and change, so we could enjoy a few extra hours at the end of our holiday.

Le Sakoa is just lovely. A perfect mix of 'charme et chic'! We would not hesitate to go back.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AndianaOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We booked this hotel for our hoenymoon and did not regret it at all. The beach was clean & safe, the hotel guards were patrolling day & night. All staff were very friendly and willing to help at anytime of the day.
The actual hotel's location is superb as we went around the island for bit of sightseeing and somehow came to a conclusion at all times that the hotel has the best beach (soft white/gold sand) and beautiful surroundings. The food was reasonably priced in comparison to other hotels in the area.
We already decided that we are coming back as we fell in love with it.
TIP: Be aware that some of the hotel restaurants in Mauritius are quite expensive when it comes to food/dining however eating in a local restaurant does not mean that you will get the best quality food for price paid.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
0.9 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Casuarina Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
1,295 reviews
1.3 km away
Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort
Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort
#2 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
#6 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
615 reviews
1.8 km away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
948 reviews
5.8 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#5 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sakoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sakoa Hotel

Address: Coastal Road, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#4 Luxury Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range: HK$1,765 - HK$3,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Sakoa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and for the family, THE SAKOA comprises 7 one-storeyed bungalows (each with 2 units). Public spaces are warm and provide a reception, a restaurant, a bar and a swimming pool. The hotel offers direct access to the beach of Trou aux Biches, characterised by its whiteness and offers one of the best baths of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Le Sakoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Sakoa Trou Aux Biches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing