We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
33
49
49
21
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
49
49
21
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean the breakfast area comfortable stay fine place lot nicer ski trip next morning hunter mountain didn't hear any noise nothing fancy new york cereal larry thruway pet skiing hits
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2018

The good:

Our room was clean. This is really the most important thing to me, especially the bathroom. The beds were fine. The room was tight for 4 of us, but it was fine for our short stay.

The not so good:

The price - when I looked at our bill, bit pained me to think that we paid that much for our room. It was a horse show weekend, so the prices were higher. The total for 2 nights was over $500. This is a budget, no frills hotel.

The towels at the pool are hilarious - smaller than a bath towel, probably twice as large as a hand towel. I think my pre-teen daughter used 4 to cover her body (including hair).

The OK:

We laughed as we noticed we were provided one washcloth for the 4 of us. We stopped by the front desk and got more without any problem.

The breakfast room was small. If you don't hit it at the right time, you won't get a seat. The food was decent, but limited (as expected for a budget hotel) - bagels, toast, pastries, cereal, eggs, sausage, make-your-own waffles (which the kids liked).

The negative:

The air conditioning blowing on us all night. To keep the room at a comfortable temperature (it was hot outside), we turned down the air. The unit literally blew across the beds. It wasn't that we were cold, it was that we didn't want the air conditioner blowing directly on us. A unit close to the ceiling or another location in the room would be better.

Overall, our stay was ok. Our major complaints weren't something that management could do anything about, so we chalked it up to an experience. This hotel is not terrible, just ok.

Room tip: There are only 2 floors. There was a crowd at the pool at night, so I'd avoid those rooms.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Holden0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

It was interesting reading your review.Thank you for it. As you stated your stay was fine and there was nothing further Management could do to improve the items you were concerned with. Please return when the Hits Horse Shows are not in town for a less expensive and less crowded stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

It seems that the rooms have been remodeled. Very clean and very close to the event we were at. The people were amazing and were receptive to all requests made. Such as first floor rooms etc. I think his name was Cliff ??
Above and beyond nice.

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for all your kind remarks.
It is our pleasure to make sure your stay
is perfect in all ways possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Rude and mistreatment by manager and staff. Not understanding of children and discriminate against travelers with young children. We were being watched constantly and they look to get rid of us every chance they get.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sby45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

I am sorry you felt the staff was rude. We received many complaints from other
guests in the hotel that your children were disturbing them in many ways.
The reason you felt that we were looking to get rid of you was because you didn't control your children and because they were out of control running and screaming all day and night. Again I am sorry, but that kind of behavior is unacceptable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Quite disappointed in our stay. Starting with check in, the computers at the front desk were down and the staff member had to take our credit card where we couldn’t see him. The elevator wasn’t working, which wasn’t the biggest problem. But our room was right next to the staircase, and we heard people running up and down the stairs constantly. Dirty shower curtain, not even lukewarm shower, rough towels and dirty carpet at the baseboards. Will not be back.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

I am so sorry that you experienced all of these inconveniences.
We were in the middle of a major snowstorm and all the power was out for twenty five miles in ll directions. That caused the elevator to blow its fuse and all the telephones were also knocked out of service. I am sorry about all the people running up and down the stairs.
The hotel has no way to control inconsiderate guests. You must also consider that the water heaters were only working on a limited basis due to the electricity being off for
some time. All of the problems were caused by Storm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Nothing fancy. Just a nice old hotel to relax and have a good nights sleep. Bed comfortable and room ok. Nothing spectacular. Bathroom was dated and bath standing shower. Breakfast is average with limited offerings. Great hotel conveniently situated but nothing spectacular

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank PaulVanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you for your remarks. I don't understand why you said the bathroom
was dated. The entire hotel was remodeled two years ago. I do hope you will return when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews