We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful views

Beautiful views and trail to the lighthouse. We were lucky enough to have a sunny day with low... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
jataniam
,
New York City, New York
via mobile
As close as you can get to the wide and almost wild Hudson River

The parking lot is 10 minutes outside of Saugerties and it is a 15 minute walk along a fairly wild... read more

Reviewed 4 November 2018
BoHahn
,
UBE
Read all 209 reviews
  
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
112
85
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
85
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low tide short walk light house the river half mile walk picnic tables bed and breakfast nice walk easy walk parking lot watch the boats nature walk beautiful spot wooded area nice place to visit pack a lunch tides
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017

The Saugerties Lighthouse is positioned at the edge of the Hudson River and just about as near as you can get without stepping in. Park the car and walk through the woods to the Lighthouse. There are places to stop and have a picnic including at the lighthouse itself. We were particularly lucky when we visited because a large ship passed by and also because we met the relief caretaker of the lighthouse whose interesting conversation added much to the day. We would have loved to stay in the lighthouse which is run as a B&B but reservations have to be made ages in advance. Although the lighthouse itself is private, there are tables and benches for casual visitors to sit and enjoy a picnic while watching the river flow past.

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank GreyPoundLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Nice little walk to the lighthouse and saw many chipmunks on the way. Enjoyed the walk and the lighthouse, very pretty.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank lexie713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

The gentle stroll through the path lined with cattails winds up at this lighthouse. Such a gem right on the Hudson

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank BaltimoreJAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Delightful .5 mi nature walk, picnic tables (go to Lighthouse website for Tide Table.) Lovely views. Feels as if you're in the middle of the Hudson River.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank LeslieB999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The walk was easy. We did not make a reservation to be able to go inside though. Spoke to a woman there about the history of the light house and reconstruction. Nice views of the Hudson. Worth the time!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank carcabbi92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews