We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and delightful”

Black-Eyed Suzie's Upstate
Ranked #10 of 83 Restaurants in Saugerties
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Description: Casual cafe with a local, seasonal menu. Outdoor dining. Vegetarian & gluten free friendly. Drop Off Catering available.
Restaurant details
Description: Casual cafe with a local, seasonal menu. Outdoor dining. Vegetarian & gluten free friendly. Drop Off Catering available.
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We were heading home from the Catskill area and decided to stop for dinner in Saugerties, and loved the reviews for Suzie's. We were not disappointed. The weather was lovely, so we sat in their small but inviting outdoor patio. Service was prompt, efficient, and very friendly. We shared apps of smoked trout and arugula salad (loved it), tasty flatbread with grilled asparagus, then a main of their fried chicken with mashed potatoes and corn bread. Everything was excellent. We'd definitely recommend and return.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SandyRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

I love this little restaurant. There is not much indoor seating, but their outdoor patio is perfect for summer evenings. The food is amazing (I love their fried chicken)! Make sure you save room for dessert (I love the s’mores cup)! Their flavored lemonade is also wonderful. A great place to eat that uses a lot of local produce and meat which is always a “win” in my opinion! Would definitely recommend this spot!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank CherylS260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here—delicious starters (steak and lettuce bites! Parker House loaf!), satisfying and complex health bowls, fantastic specials and deserts. Inventive and tasty drinks too. The space is small but beautiful. Our only complaint concerns a server who was very loud and intrusive in this otherwise cozy, gentle space. She was training a new server and was, we felt, rude to her. Otherwise, a stellar evening,

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank SkiingNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

For what we got, this restaurant was too expensive. The food was good but you did not get a lot for your money. The $20 lasagna was hardly enough for one, and there was nothing but lettuce in the side salad. Two orders of bread was $8.00. The only deal was the "bowl".
Staff was pleasant, and plenty of parking on side street.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

The place is small, but well appointed and nicely decorated. The menu is varied and has something for everyone- meat, fish, vegetarians - and they serve wine and deer with a nice selection of both.

The food is outstanding! We were a party of 8 and had 1/2 the restaurant. Everyone loved the meal! It can be hard to have 8 at a small place but they accommodated us perfectly and the dinner was perfect.

We will all be back!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 473nical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black-Eyed Suzie's Upstate also viewed

Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 

Been to Black-Eyed Suzie's Upstate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing