We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knitting Retreat with friends”
Review of Winter Clove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winter Clove Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2017

This is an 1858 resort hotel with lots to do. Since it was at a knitting retreat in November, I did not take advantage of their many outdoor activities. There is lots to do indoors as well, something for everyone. Meals were generous and delicious. Wait staff friendly. The rooms are quaint and comfortable. If you are expecting really modern amenities, you need to go to a chain hotel. This hotel is charming, cozy and comfortable. I enjoyed it.

Room Tip: The first floor is perfect and there is a handicapped ramp in the rear. My room was a nice size with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hi Patricia,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Winter Clove Inn. We hope you will join us again for a knitting retreat or perhaps a getaway with family or friends.

Sincerely,
Lenore W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2017

I went on a solo 4 day trip in late fall. It was freezing out but I loved my stay. The water wall and bridge nearby were perfect for small walks, the indoor pool was wonderful for morning swims, and the atmosphere was just so cozy and comfortable.

I LOVED the decor of the room. A lot of the appeal of this place was the Victorian era inn, and they really maintain the integrity of that through decoration.

It was very convenient having meals served, and my waiter was wonderful. After a day of being there he would have a cup of hot water ready for me because he knew I drank tea with every meal.

The nearby hiking trails were also very convenient. Overall I loved my trip and I will definitely try to come back (hopefully when it is it warmer out!)

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank krmanzi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Greetings,

We are very happy to hear that you had a relaxing fall getaway and thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Lenore W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Was a little concerned about some of the negative reviews, but I realized right away why some my hve had a problem here. This is one of the olest operating inns in the US. of course it's dated. If you want modern, find a holiday inn. The king room was charming. Food was included nd though nothing fancy, it was well prepared and very good. The four poster bed was huge and comfortable. The hotel was clean and yes dated, but that was a GOOD thing. Very quiet with no TV in room. Indoor pool was available, s was gym. Lots of trails and outdoor things to do. Not for those looking for a hopping nightlife, but perfect for a quiet getaway. Great for a couples vacation too. Modern, spacious bathrooms were clean. Thebbar on premises was reasoable and hosted a low key, friendly crowd. I will go again.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Hi Mike,
Thank you for your recent stay at Winter Clove Inn and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We take great pride in our history and being a place where people can escape the grind of everyday life and enjoy old world charm and relaxing atmosphere of Winter Clove and it sounds like that is exactly what you did.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Lenore W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

It has been several years (early 2000s) since my family’s last stay at Winter Clove. We had been regulars in the 60s and 70s.

There have been some very notable improvements since my last visit. The now have a very nice exercise room in the main house as well as a beautiful intimate bar with fireplace right off of the main house veranda. Meal choices we excellent and well prepared.

But above everything that is new, Winter Clove continues to be a fantastic property with some great walking and hiking trails, beautiful views and countless waterfalls and streams.

This is a great family resort where the younger ones can safely go exploring, the parents can relax and the entire family can play and eat together. The amenities are countless.

It also a romantic setting for couples or friends with several quiet hiking spots and great places for a quite and secluded picnic perhaps with a nice wine.

Great staff and hands on owners. Start a great tradition for your family. Go visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Peahead59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at Winter Clove Inn. Thank you for mentioning some of the improvements we have made since your last visit as we are constantly working to improve our property and ultimately the enjoyment of our guest. We hope you will not wait so long for your next visit to Winter Clove.
Sincerely,
Lenore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We are very happy with the Winter Clove Inn. We (a Norwegian couple in our sixties) are rather picky as for accomodations, and we greatly enjoyed our stay. A large, rather rambling facility full of charm and old-fashioned atmosphere. Just perfect for hiking in the Catskills, all kinds of lovely paths in the woods and on the hill tops. Lot's of outdoor activities, a good swimming pool, a nice and rather rough little nine hole golf course on the property. Friendly and helpful people at the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JPH1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Greetings,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Winter Clove and taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to take in the natural beauty of the Catskills. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Lenore Whitcomb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
17.4 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
303 reviews
17.9 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
8.8 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#3 of 5 in Hunter
129 reviews
19.8 km away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
174 reviews
0.6 km away
Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Clove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Clove Inn

Address: Winter Clove Rd, Round Top, NY 12473-0067
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Price Range: HK$1,891 - HK$4,213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on over 300 pristine acres and nestled at the base of North Mountain Winter Clove Inn is an all inclusive family resort offering three delicious meals served daily, indoor/outdoor heated pools, bar/lounge area, bowling alley, 9-hole golf course, miles of hiking trails, waterfalls, fitness center, tennis, basketball, volleyball, and much more. YOU'LL LOVE IT HERE!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Winter Clove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winter Clove Hotel Round Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing